RSS Feed

Beauty Review – May Birchbox

Phew – this half term is proving to be incredibly productive so far! My Mum is staying with us for a few days and she is definitely the driving force behind it all but so far we have cut the front hedge back, painted the front gate, painted the living room, painted the kitchen and done a huge sort out of my wardrobes (yes, plural!) resulting in three full bags of clothes and shoes for the charity shop. We are heading out for afternoon tea now as a reward for all our hard work before an evening with my bestie, manicures and lots of cheesecake!

may5

This month’s Birchbox arrived recently and I have to say it was the prettiest one yet! A collaboration with Harper’s Bazaar, this box is all about the ‘Great Outdoors’ and being outside, whether it’s for a picnic in the park, camping, al fresco dining  or a music festival.

may12

Here was my first peek inside the bag:

may13

First up, They’re Real Mascara by Benefit, one of my favourite make-up brands. This cult mascara has been on my list to try for a while so I was very happy to see this included. I’m currently in love with a No. 7 Lash Adapt Mascara which I think will take some beating…let’s hope the Benefit one lives up to the hype!

may6 may7

Next, a shampoo and conditioner from Beauty Protector. I have used the Protect and Oil hair oil by this brand before and loved it so I am looking forward to using these. They are perfect holiday size and I love the fact they have included both the shampoo and conditioner as I like to use the same brand hair products.

may8

The next box was one of the most beautifully packaged nail varnishes I have ever seen! I received the shade Crème au Beurre by Soigné which is a beautiful pinky nude shade. I do have a couple of new nude shades but expect to see this one making its way into a manicure very soon. This is non-toxic too so hopefully a bit gentler on my nails.

may10 may9

Next, a Bath and Shower Oil from Aromatherapy Associates in Revive. This smells divine – very citrusy and refreshing yet quite herbal. This is quite a high-end brand so nice to see it included, although I can’t see myself paying £39 for the full-sized version!

may1 may2

Finally, an oldie but a goodie. I can’t speak highly enough about Liz Earle’s Cleanse and Polish Hot Cloth Cleanser – I rave about it to my friends and have converted a few of them! This leaves your skin feeling so clean and refreshed and is a product I always repurchase once it has run out – there is a reason why one of these cleansers sells every 23 seconds!

may3 may4

I love the collaboration with Harpers Bazaar this month, even if just for the beautiful packaging. I think this is one of my best Birchboxes yet – full of high-end brands and products I love…keep up the good work! x

may11

About hannahhotcakes

My name is Hannah. I live near Bath in a lovely village in the Cotswolds with my husband Ian, the love of my life for the past 10 years, in our dream cottage. I have landed my dream job as a primary school teacher and I can’t think of anything else I would rather be doing. I am a self-confessed foodie and I love to cook, bake, and eat out as much as possible. Here are some things I love: My friends and family, travelling, fresh flowers, good books, having breakfast on my balcony, horror films, Christmas, tea, Las Vegas, lie-ins, red wine, Liverpool FC, music, sausage dogs, Spain, rare steak, fashion, cheese, American TV series and camping. And here are my pet hates: People dressed as animals, whistling, being rushed, being made to wait, girls who act stupid to impress a man, spiders, sunburn and rocket (it comes with EVERYTHING!)

Leave a Reply

