RSS Feed

Recipe – Pimms-Stewed Rhubarb and Rice Pudding

Rhubarb is just coming into season now. I love this bright pink fruit and it usually finds itself in a crumble in our house to be enjoyed with Sunday lunch. I wanted to try something a bit different this time and make a fruit compote. I fancied making some rice pudding so rather than just stewing the rhubarb in sugar and water, I decided to put a summery twist on this pudding and use Pimms!

rhub13

I didn’t have any of the original Pimms in my cupboard but I did have some of this limited edition ‘Blackberry and Elderflower’ left which worked brilliantly. To add another summery twist, I added the peel and juice of one orange too.

rhub4

The below amounts made enough for two people plus half a jam jar of fruit compote left over which I plan to finish off with my morning granola or a bowl of ice cream.

Ingredients

rhub3

for the rice pudding

100g pudding rice

600ml of milk (whole milk will be creamier but I used my usual skimmed)

1 teaspoon of vanilla extract

3 tablespoons of caster sugar

Some grated nutmeg (optional)

for the rhubarb compote

3 tablespoons of caster sugar

The peel and juice of one orange

60ml of Pimms

About 400g of rhubarb, chopped into chunks (I used 3 stalks)

How to make it

o   Begin by making your rice pudding and adding the rice, milk, vanilla and sugar to a large non-stick panrhub1

o   Simmer over a low to medium heat for about 30 minutes, stirring regularly until it resembles rice pudding. Add the nutmeg.rhub7rhub6

o  Whilst the rice is cooking, in a separate pan, add the sugar, orange peel and juice and Pimms

o   Keep the pan on a low heat until the sugar has dissolved

o   Add the rhubarb and stew for 5-10 minutes with the lid on until tenderrhub14 rhub15

o   Combine the fruit and rice and enjoy!rhub8 rhub12

About hannahhotcakes

My name is Hannah. I live near Bath in a lovely village in the Cotswolds with my husband Ian, the love of my life for the past 10 years, in our dream cottage. I have landed my dream job as a primary school teacher and I can’t think of anything else I would rather be doing. I am a self-confessed foodie and I love to cook, bake, and eat out as much as possible. Here are some things I love: My friends and family, travelling, fresh flowers, good books, having breakfast on my balcony, horror films, Christmas, tea, Las Vegas, lie-ins, red wine, Liverpool FC, music, sausage dogs, Spain, rare steak, fashion, cheese, American TV series and camping. And here are my pet hates: People dressed as animals, whistling, being rushed, being made to wait, girls who act stupid to impress a man, spiders, sunburn and rocket (it comes with EVERYTHING!)

Leave a Reply

