RSS Feed

Restaurant Review – Victoria Pub and Kitchen, Bath

It’s half term! I had a few drinks to celebrate with my colleagues last night and so have spent today feeling very sluggish and tired. However, after a pretty relaxing day and some good food, the balance has been restored and I feel ready to tackle some new projects over the coming week.

vic7

We have our best friends coming over tomorrow then my Mum is here for a few days so I’m looking forward to seeing them all!

This week, Ian and I headed in to Bath slightly undecided about where to eat. This is not good for us as there are so many good places to eat and I am so indecisive!

We headed to the King William but were left waiting at the bar for almost 5 minutes without even being acknowledged by any member of staff so I very quickly decided that there were much better and friendlier places to eat…manners cost nothing!

We then went across town to try out Burgers and Barrels which has rave reviews for both their burgers and cocktails but I didn’t realise how tiny it was inside and there was no room at the inn for us.

Feeling rather hungry by now, we decided to try somewhere new so crossed the river to Victoria Pub and Kitchen, near Victoria Park. This place is relatively new and has been decorated very tastefully with lots of cool mismatched chairs, a rustic laid back feel and a nice outdoor area.

vic5 vic6

Having been in the mood for a burger earlier on, we decided to give theirs a go. I opted for the Piri Piri Chicken burger served with chips, coleslaw and an onion ring. The waitress warned me this was rather spicy but I didn’t really think it was. I enjoyed it though – the seeded bread roll was lovely and the chicken was juicy and well-flavoured.

vic3

Ian was clearly feeling hungry as he ordered the ‘Ultimate Burger’…a beast of a dish with two beef burgers, bacon, pulled pork, cheese, onion rings and a side of chips and coleslaw.

vic1

Despite being ridiculously excessive, this was really tasty. To pick it up, he had to take one of the burgers out but managed to eat pretty much all of it! The pulled pork was delicious – I would order this alone on the menu if we went back.

vic2

The Victoria Pub is a little walk out of Bath but I would say it is worth the trip if you are looking for tasty food in a friendly, laid-back environment.

About hannahhotcakes

My name is Hannah. I live near Bath in a lovely village in the Cotswolds with my husband Ian, the love of my life for the past 10 years, in our dream cottage. I have landed my dream job as a primary school teacher and I can’t think of anything else I would rather be doing. I am a self-confessed foodie and I love to cook, bake, and eat out as much as possible. Here are some things I love: My friends and family, travelling, fresh flowers, good books, having breakfast on my balcony, horror films, Christmas, tea, Las Vegas, lie-ins, red wine, Liverpool FC, music, sausage dogs, Spain, rare steak, fashion, cheese, American TV series and camping. And here are my pet hates: People dressed as animals, whistling, being rushed, being made to wait, girls who act stupid to impress a man, spiders, sunburn and rocket (it comes with EVERYTHING!)

Leave a Reply

