RSS Feed

This Week’s Nails – Ciaté Caviar Manicure

I have been trying really hard to eat well this week. After a bit of an indulgent weekend, I have cut out the naughty snacks, made that extra bit of effort in the morning to make a salad for lunch and have tried to include lots of fresh vegetables for dinner.

On Monday, I swapped my usual pasta for healthier courgette ribbons with my meatballs and feta

ciate9

Last night, it was salmon with ginger, garlic and chili stir-fried baby sweetcorn, asparagus and chestnut mushrooms and some vine roasted tomatoes

ciate1

Tonight, I made a sausage and roasted vegetable tray but finished off with a rice pudding and Pimms-stewed rhubarb dessert…there was still fruit in it so not too naughty in my books!

ciate2 ciate3 ciate4

I’m hoping these little changes will make a bit of a difference and restore some balance to my diet.

Today’s manicure set was actually a freebie from Marie Claire – I always keep an eye out to see what goodies magazines have to offer!

ciate12

I like this brand but I have to say I wasn’t wowed by this duo.

I received a nude polish in the shade Cookies and Cream and caviar pearls in Shooting Star. In the bottle the nail varnish looks a lovely greige shade but it took three to four coats to become opaque and quite frankly, ain’t nobody got time for that!

ciate13

The caviar pearls are a beautiful combination of gold, silver, lilac and blue and I used these on one nail. My tip would be to tip the pearls onto wet nails and then lightly press them to the nail bed. Make sure you have a little saucer underneath to catch the stray pearls otherwise you will be finding them for weeks!

ciate14

Despite being quite a thin consistency, I do really like this shade on my nails and I think it would flatter most skin tones. It looks great with the caviar pearls and for a special occasion, this is a lovely little set.

ciate11ciate6

However, I had forgotten how easily these little pearls come loose – within a day over half of them had fallen off so this is definitely a ‘night out’ manicure as opposed to a look to wear for a week which is what I’m usually looking for.

ciate5

Considering it was a freebie, this was a nice kit but I just wished it lasted a little longer!

About hannahhotcakes

My name is Hannah. I live near Bath in a lovely village in the Cotswolds with my husband Ian, the love of my life for the past 10 years, in our dream cottage. I have landed my dream job as a primary school teacher and I can’t think of anything else I would rather be doing. I am a self-confessed foodie and I love to cook, bake, and eat out as much as possible. Here are some things I love: My friends and family, travelling, fresh flowers, good books, having breakfast on my balcony, horror films, Christmas, tea, Las Vegas, lie-ins, red wine, Liverpool FC, music, sausage dogs, Spain, rare steak, fashion, cheese, American TV series and camping. And here are my pet hates: People dressed as animals, whistling, being rushed, being made to wait, girls who act stupid to impress a man, spiders, sunburn and rocket (it comes with EVERYTHING!)

Leave a Reply

