RSS Feed

Too Much Eating Out!

It has been a funny old week with some celebrating and commiserating and lots of eating out!

I mentioned earlier in the week that I had some travel vaccinations done. Well, I was meant to be going to China for three weeks this summer on a teaching programme. Those who know me well know that I am slightly obsessed with China and Chinese history and culture so I was getting very excited about this trip but had a funny feeling all along that something was going to go wrong and that I wouldn’t end up going. I then had an email on Thursday informing me that the holiday had fallen through due to pretty poor organisation. Although there seems to be some vain attempts to keep the project going, it appears it is dead in the water and so Ian took me out for dinner that night to cheer me up!

We walked across the fields in the sunshine to The Fox and Hounds – how pretty is their beer garden? I can see us spending some time here this summer!

food1food7food26

Over a great steak (Ian), a rather average pie (me) and a delicious treacle tart we replaced my disappointment with new travel ideas. I think we managed to plan a trip to almost every continent this summer and have narrowed it down to two or three options to investigate…and now I am fully vaccinated, I can go anywhere!!!

food2 food3

Last night, one of my best friends Cat arrived from London and after a bottle of prosecco, our chauffeur (Ian!) dropped us at The Longs Arms in the next village – one of my favourite pubs that serves the most wonderful local and seasonal food.

I had an amazing smoked salmon spelt risotto with samphire and Cat had a fresh asparagus and broad bean ravioli.

food11 food12

For pudding, I had a buttermilk and mead panna cotta (which had the perfect wobble!) served with honeycomb, popping candy, fresh berries and mint and Cat had apple pie rice pudding with strawberries – both looked and tasted incredible. This is one of my favourite places to go for dinner and we always leave feeling very full and with smiles on our faces!

food14 food15

This morning, we had a lazy morning with tea, OJ and croissants then headed into Bath for lunch at Bill’s. We both opted for salads (Chicken Caesar for Cat, Bacon, Avocado and Poached Egg for me) and then enjoyed a wander around Bath in the gorgeous sunshine before we went our separate ways.

food16

Ian and I spent the afternoon in the garden, reading, sunbathing and admittedly nodding off once or twice. It was such beautiful weather and the best part is that we are due more of the same tomorrow!

food18 food24

After this indulgent week, I am determined to have a slightly healthier week ahead as the option of a potential beach holiday is on the cards and I am definitely not bikini-ready!

Have you been making the most of the sunshine today?

About hannahhotcakes

My name is Hannah. I live near Bath in a lovely village in the Cotswolds with my husband Ian, the love of my life for the past 10 years, in our dream cottage. I have landed my dream job as a primary school teacher and I can’t think of anything else I would rather be doing. I am a self-confessed foodie and I love to cook, bake, and eat out as much as possible. Here are some things I love: My friends and family, travelling, fresh flowers, good books, having breakfast on my balcony, horror films, Christmas, tea, Las Vegas, lie-ins, red wine, Liverpool FC, music, sausage dogs, Spain, rare steak, fashion, cheese, American TV series and camping. And here are my pet hates: People dressed as animals, whistling, being rushed, being made to wait, girls who act stupid to impress a man, spiders, sunburn and rocket (it comes with EVERYTHING!)

Leave a Reply

