RSS Feed

Recipe – Roasted Tomato, Feta and Thyme Tarte

My blogging plans were cast to one side this weekend as I arrived home on Friday and realised that I had left my laptop cable in work…rookie mistake!

We had a great weekend though, seeing our friends for a birthday BBQ on Saturday (and yes, there was some classic British barbecuing-in-the-rain action!), a visit from my parents and our village breakfast on Sunday followed by a long walk and a few beers at the pub. I also had a mountain of books to mark but that doesn’t sound quite so exciting!

Today, I wanted to share a great little recipe that was actually my way of using up some leftover puff pastry after making a pie. It is quick, easy, has very few ingredients and is delicious warm or chilled the next day for lunch.

feta5

I decided not to bother with weights and amounts for his recipe as you can make one huge pie or lots of little individual ones depending on how much pastry you have.

Ingredients

Puff pastry (I always buy mine but high fives if yours is homemade!)

A block of feta cheese

Tomatoes, thinly sliced

Dried thyme

Salt and pepper

Olive oil

Balsamic vinegar (optional)

How to make it

o   Begin by preheating your oven to 180°C, Gas Mark 4

o   Lay out your puff pastry and score a line about an inch thick the whole way around the outsidefeta7

o   Crumble your feta inside this scored line evenlyfeta8

o   Place your slice tomatoes on top – you could do them in rows to look like a pro or just lay them on anywhere you fancy!feta9

o   Sprinkle over some dried thyme and a good amount of salt and pepper (although not too much salt as the feta is quite salty)

o   Drizzle over some olive oil and bake until golden brown and cooked throughout – 20 minutes should do itfeta2

o   Serve warm with a drizzle of balsamic vinegar and a salad or leave it to cool then have it for lunch the next dayfeta4

I’m off to Pilates now – my first session in four weeks so I expect to be aching tomorrow!

About hannahhotcakes

My name is Hannah. I live near Bath in a lovely village in the Cotswolds with my husband Ian, the love of my life for the past 10 years, in our dream cottage. I have landed my dream job as a primary school teacher and I can’t think of anything else I would rather be doing. I am a self-confessed foodie and I love to cook, bake, and eat out as much as possible. Here are some things I love: My friends and family, travelling, fresh flowers, good books, having breakfast on my balcony, horror films, Christmas, tea, Las Vegas, lie-ins, red wine, Liverpool FC, music, sausage dogs, Spain, rare steak, fashion, cheese, American TV series and camping. And here are my pet hates: People dressed as animals, whistling, being rushed, being made to wait, girls who act stupid to impress a man, spiders, sunburn and rocket (it comes with EVERYTHING!)

4 responses »

  1. Looks delicious. Following and I certainly will try this!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

