RSS Feed

Recipe – Mini Carrot and Cranberry Loaves

I love a big chunk of carrot cake, topped with a cream cheese icing, and when I saw these mini loaf cases I thought it would be good to make a miniature version of the cake I love so much.

cc15

 

I wanted to try making them with a slight twist though and replaced the usual sultanas with little dried cranberries. Not only do these give a lovely pop of colour and texture but they deliver a bit more of a bite than a sweet, soft sultana – I would definitely substitute these again.

cc22

I also used these cute white chocolate carrots to top the cakes which I think look and tasted lovely!

cc19cc1

Ingredients

170g of self-raising flour

150g of light brown sugar

1 teaspoon of ground cinnamon

A good grating of fresh nutmeg (about a teaspoon)

1 teaspoon of bicarbonate of soda

150ml of sunflower or vegetable oil

2 eggs

The zest and juice of one orange

50g of dried cranberries

150g of grated carrots

50g of chopped walnuts

50g of butter, room temperature

85g of sifted icing sugar

200g of full fat cream cheese

Another pinch of cinammon

How to make it

o   Begin by preheating your oven to 180°C, Gas Mark 4

o   In a bowl, mix together the flour, sugar, cinnamon, nutmeg and bicarbonate of sodacc21

o   In a separate jug, mix together the wet ingredients of oil, eggs, orange juice and zest

o   Add the wet ingredients to the dry and combine

o   Add the cranberries, grated carrots and walnuts and mix wellcc24

o   Spoon this mixture into the loaf casescc18

o   Bake for  30-40 minutes or until the cakes are golden brown and cooked throughoutcc12

o   Allow to cool and make your icing by beating together the butter, icing sugar, cream cheese and cinnamon until smoothcc13

o   Once the loaves have cooled, top with the icing and a mini carrot then enjoy with a cup of teacc5

I seem to have my cooking and baking mojo back and have just rustled up a tart and two pies so expect some more recipes very soon! x

About hannahhotcakes

My name is Hannah. I live near Bath in a lovely village in the Cotswolds with my husband Ian, the love of my life for the past 10 years, in our dream cottage. I have landed my dream job as a primary school teacher and I can’t think of anything else I would rather be doing. I am a self-confessed foodie and I love to cook, bake, and eat out as much as possible. Here are some things I love: My friends and family, travelling, fresh flowers, good books, having breakfast on my balcony, horror films, Christmas, tea, Las Vegas, lie-ins, red wine, Liverpool FC, music, sausage dogs, Spain, rare steak, fashion, cheese, American TV series and camping. And here are my pet hates: People dressed as animals, whistling, being rushed, being made to wait, girls who act stupid to impress a man, spiders, sunburn and rocket (it comes with EVERYTHING!)

One response »

  1. Pingback: 2014 | hannahhotcakes

Leave a Reply

