RSS Feed

Restaurant Review – @1 Newbridge, Bath

Ian and I decided to start our Bank Holiday weekend with a bang and head to this new pop-up restaurant, situated in The Weston pub on the outskirts of Bath.

The pop-up restaurant trend is still going strong and when I heard lobster was on the menu I was intrigued. Further tempted by a Twitter offer of a free bottle of bubbly, we booked for Friday night.

The Weston itself is nice enough but we were led round to another area of the pub with white linen tablecloths…clearly the ‘posh’ section for the night!

On offer was a selection of gourmet burgers (fillet steak, pulled pork and the like), whole lobster thermidor or the ideal combination of a mini burger and half a lobster. We both opted for this luxurious surf and turf and enjoyed our champers while we waited.

popup3

When my platter arrived I was sure it was a sharing one as you get so much food for your £19! It looked great though…a huge half of lobster thermidor, a 4oz beer burger and onion rings, unlimited chips (served in a cute fryer), a pot of dipping sauce and some coleslaw.

popup4

I got stuck in to the lobster straight away and it was the clear winner on the plate. Sweet, juicy and served in a lovely creamy sauce, topped with gruyere cheese and grilled so there was a crispy topping too…I am salivating just thinking about it!

popup6

The burger was unfortunately rather average. Nothing wrong with it at all but really nothing special. I am used to having ‘posh burgers’ served pink now whereas this was well-done and had started to dry out slightly.

popup7

The chips were tasty, especially dipped in the accompanying cheese sauce, and the coleslaw had a lovely refreshing lemony dressing which matched the other rich elements on the plate.

popup5

Somehow, I managed to find room for a triple chocolate brownie for pudding which was absolutely delicious and we left feeling very full and satisfied.

popup8

I’m not sure how long this pop-up will be around for but I recommend getting yourselves down to The Weston one weekend and if we go again I would definitely push the boat out and have the whole lobster as it really was divine.

About hannahhotcakes

My name is Hannah. I live near Bath in a lovely village in the Cotswolds with my husband Ian, the love of my life for the past 10 years, in our dream cottage. I have landed my dream job as a primary school teacher and I can’t think of anything else I would rather be doing. I am a self-confessed foodie and I love to cook, bake, and eat out as much as possible. Here are some things I love: My friends and family, travelling, fresh flowers, good books, having breakfast on my balcony, horror films, Christmas, tea, Las Vegas, lie-ins, red wine, Liverpool FC, music, sausage dogs, Spain, rare steak, fashion, cheese, American TV series and camping. And here are my pet hates: People dressed as animals, whistling, being rushed, being made to wait, girls who act stupid to impress a man, spiders, sunburn and rocket (it comes with EVERYTHING!)

3 responses »

  1. Pingback: 2014 | hannahhotcakes

  2. How do you book a table at
    @1 Newbridge for lobster and burgar
    Please can you help?

    Reply

Leave a Reply

