RSS Feed

Beauty Review – April Birchbox

It is shaping up to be a gorgeous Bank Holiday here! We have been determined to make the most of the fleeting sunshine and have been to a great new lobster pop-up restaurant (review coming soon!), saw some friends yesterday at a little beer and cider festival then popped across Bristol to see more friends and their pups and have an amazing chilli together!

birch12 birch13 birch15 birch16 birch17

Today is looking a little more chilled out with a nice long walk to see the lambs and calves in the surrounding fields followed by a huge roast dinner tonight with a film…can we make three-day weekends mandatory?!

I’m a bit late with this Birchbox review but it is well worth the wait as yet again, I received a great box of goodies – they are doing so well with their brands and products at the moment!

Here is my first peek in the box…

birch7

This month has a foodie theme to the box with the products being ‘Good Enough to Eat’ and a Hummingbird Bakery cupcake recipe included too. I love using nice-smelling body products so I thought this was a pretty cool theme to follow.

birch6

First up, the foodie in me grabbed the bag of popcorn! I have tried ProperCorn before but not this flavour – Sweet Coconut and Vanilla – and it was delicious. Coming in at under 40 calories a bag meant it was a totally guilt-free treat too!

birch5

Next up, a Laura Mercier Fresh Fig Body Butter. I love this brand so was really pleased to see another product from them and fig is one of my favourite scents so I am looking forward to using this.

birch8

Now I don’t really need another mint green nail varnish but this one by Color Club in the shade Breakfast At… has a lovely pearlescent finish to it which makes it unlike anything I already own. I like this nail varnish brand and I think this shade will make it into my next manicure.

birch1 birch2

I was pleased to see a new brand included in the box too. I received Yin Yang’s Skin Cleanser which smells really refreshing and is an all-natural product.

birch9

I have used foundations by RMK before and really liked the dewy finish they gave my skin so I was happy to find another product from them – a lightweight make up base. This doesn’t provide any colour or coverage but is meant to smooth and hydrate the skin to make your base last that little bit longer.

birch10

Finally, another of my favourite brands – theBalm! I love the packaging of their products and this gorgeous cheek and lip cream is no exception. I received the shade Pie which is a bright pinky-red shade which can be built up to achieve your desired colour. I have used this as a blusher and a lip colour so far and was impressed.

birch3 birch4

Overall, a great little box this month!

Wishing you a lovely, food-filled and relaxing Bank Holiday weekend x

About hannahhotcakes

My name is Hannah. I live near Bath in a lovely village in the Cotswolds with my husband Ian, the love of my life for the past 10 years, in our dream cottage. I have landed my dream job as a primary school teacher and I can’t think of anything else I would rather be doing. I am a self-confessed foodie and I love to cook, bake, and eat out as much as possible. Here are some things I love: My friends and family, travelling, fresh flowers, good books, having breakfast on my balcony, horror films, Christmas, tea, Las Vegas, lie-ins, red wine, Liverpool FC, music, sausage dogs, Spain, rare steak, fashion, cheese, American TV series and camping. And here are my pet hates: People dressed as animals, whistling, being rushed, being made to wait, girls who act stupid to impress a man, spiders, sunburn and rocket (it comes with EVERYTHING!)

Leave a Reply

