RSS Feed

Food Diary – Two

We were having a discussion in the staff room last week about whether you eat healthier during a working week or during the holidays. I found this a tricky one to answer as I definitely have more time to exercise and make healthier meals during the holidays but then again I am at home and tend to be a bit of a grazer so probably end up eating more than I realise.

I have also gotten into the habit of making myself a salad to take in to work for lunch, whereas at home I still have the ingredients for a nice healthy salad but quite often ditch that for a bacon sandwich instead!

I decided to put this to the test and set myself a little photo session for my first week off…

Saturday April 5th

I started today with a 6km run so treated myself to a hot-cross bun for breakfast with a huge mug of tea. I didn’t actually have this until about midday so skipped lunch and had an early dinner instead, trying to ‘beat the takeaway’ and making my homemade version of fish, chips and mushy peas. Not quite as indulgent as the chips you get from the chippy but much lower in calories!

food1 food2 food3

My treat today was sticky toffee pudding with two scoops of salted caramel ice cream…mmmmmm

Sunday April 6th

No run today as it was raining but I was doing DIY all day so I feel that was enough lifting and exercise!

I started the day with another hot-cross bun, had a crispy bacon and guacamole roll for lunch, some crisps and more guacamole watching the football that afternoon then spaghetti and meatballs for dinner (I had almost finished when I remembered to take the photo!)

food4 food5 food6 food7 food8

My treat today was a handful of mini eggs – a welcome return to the shops at this time of year.

Monday April 7th

I spent the first proper day of my holidays in school planning! A bit of a pain but it meant I could relax for the next two weeks knowing I had made a big dent in my workload.

I was in a bit of a rush this morning so had a banana whilst driving in to school then maple and pecan granola and natural yogurt when I got home that afternoon.

food9 food10

As a reward for getting so much done, I had a choc chip muffin with a cuppa then pesto pasta with bacon for dinner after my Pilates class.

food11 food12

Tuesday April 8th

I have tried to get into the habit of getting up and going for a run in the mornings this week because then I feel I have started my day well and find it much easier to stay on track and not snack!

I started today with a 6km run then had granola with milk for breakfast.

food13

After a bit of painting, I had ‘Mexican Eggs’ for lunch using fresh eggs a girl in my class brought in for me! These are just scrambled eggs mixed with cherry tomatoes, fresh coriander and I served mine with hot sauce on seeded toast and a glass of OJ.

food14

Dinner was a tuna steak, that I marinated all day in a soy, ginger, garlic and chili sauce, with a mushroom stirfry followed by half (well a little bit over half as you can see!) a syrup sponge pudding and salted caramel ice cream.

food15 food16

Wednesday April 9th

Another 6km run followed by granola and natural yogurt and tea. I had cheese and tomato on toast with some coleslaw and OJ for lunch then made my Creamy Prawn Pasta for dinner with a glass of white wine.

food17 food18 food19

Thursday April 10th

Only a 3km run today as my ankles were aching a bit, followed by tea, toast and blueberry jam for breakfast.

food20

I had an awful day today, missing my (much needed!) hair appointment due to a flat tyre so I wolfed down a bowl of my prawn pasta with a glass of OJ when I finally got home that afternoon.

food21

I baked mini carrot cake loaves too and had to have a little taste of the cake and icing…purely for quality control purposes of course!

food22

That evening we went out for dinner and I had a mojito, tempura battered pork belly and black pudding with an apple and chili dipping sauce then a delicious fish stew, packed full of prawns, clams and white fish and served with bread, aioli and some truffle and Parmesan fries.

food23 food24 food25

I finished an already naughty evening off with the other half of a mini carrot cake!

Friday April 11th

A quick Pilates session in the morning then a bowl of granola and yogurt. I finished off my prawn pasta for lunch then after a mammoth 4 hour painting session, had a slice of carrot cake with a brew.

food26 food27food29

Dinner was ginger and chili salmon served with ginger and coriander sweet potato mash, broad beans and oven roasted tomatoes and some popcorn whilst watching Gogglebox!

food30

So there you have it…my holiday food diary. On the whole, not too bad – I’m impressed I’ve managed to get into the habit of a daily run or Pilates session but I definitely have a sweet tooth, especially in the evenings, and also turn to food to cheer me up when something doesn’t go to plan!

We are going away for a few days tomorrow so I will try to make an effort to come up with some tasty salad options for lunch next week to make up for eating out (and drinking!) in Oxford this weekend! x

About hannahhotcakes

My name is Hannah. I live near Bath in a lovely village in the Cotswolds with my husband Ian, the love of my life for the past 10 years, in our dream cottage. I have landed my dream job as a primary school teacher and I can’t think of anything else I would rather be doing. I am a self-confessed foodie and I love to cook, bake, and eat out as much as possible. Here are some things I love: My friends and family, travelling, fresh flowers, good books, having breakfast on my balcony, horror films, Christmas, tea, Las Vegas, lie-ins, red wine, Liverpool FC, music, sausage dogs, Spain, rare steak, fashion, cheese, American TV series and camping. And here are my pet hates: People dressed as animals, whistling, being rushed, being made to wait, girls who act stupid to impress a man, spiders, sunburn and rocket (it comes with EVERYTHING!)

Leave a Reply

