RSS Feed

Recipe – Creamy Prawn Pasta Bake

I’m up bright and early today (9am counts as early during the holidays!) as I’m off into Bath to get my hair cut and coloured. I won’t be repeating my flip-flop mistake again but I am going to risk going out without a coat…living on the edge!

Ian and I spent the last night planning our weekend – we are off to Oxford for two nights (a lovely Christmas present from his parents and Grandad!) and have been looking up good places to eat, have afternoon tea (me!) and pubs to visit (Ian!) – any other recommendations for places to visit are definitely welcome too.

Today’s recipe is something I made us for dinner last night – I had some prawns I wanted to use up but also bought this lovely miniature shell pasta (I think it was called Gnocci Sardi) which the box said was meant to go well with cheese-based sauces. I decided to combine the two and make a sort of mac and cheese type meal with prawns for sweetness and some spinach and cherry tomatoes for colour.

prawn13

Ingredients

50g of butter

50g of plain flour

500ml of milk

A pinch of freshly grated nutmeg

About 75g of strong cheddar, grated

Salt and pepper

320g of pasta (macaroni or shell pasta would work fine)

300g of fresh prawns (washed and peeled)

150g of fresh spinach

75g of Parmesan cheese

75g of cherry tomatoes, halved

How to make it

o   Begin by making your sauce. Melt the butter and add the flour, stirring to create a rouxprawn11

o   Next, add your milk gradually, whisking constantly, until you have a smooth sauceprawn12

o   Add the cheddar bit by bit then grate in the nutmeg and season well

o   Meanwhile, cook your pasta until it is al denteprawn7

o   Drain your pasta and put it back into the pan

o   Add a knob of butter, prawns, spinach, half of the Parmesan and about half of the cheese sauceprawn8

o   Mix together well and add the cherry tomatoes – the spinach should start to wilt and the prawns will begin to go pinkprawn10

o   Tip the pasta into your ovenproof dish and pour over the rest of the cheese sauce

o   Top with the remaining Parmesan cheese and cook for about 20 minutes at 180°C, Gas Mark 4prawn1

o   I finished mine off under the grill to ensure I had a golden, crispy toppingprawn3

o   Serve immediately with a large glass of white wine!prawn4

This made enough for about 4 large portions or 6 smaller ones if you were going to serve it with a side salad. There was no way to make this look pretty and dainty – it is good honest comfort food and I have to say it was delicious!

prawn5

About hannahhotcakes

My name is Hannah. I live near Bath in a lovely village in the Cotswolds with my husband Ian, the love of my life for the past 10 years, in our dream cottage. I have landed my dream job as a primary school teacher and I can’t think of anything else I would rather be doing. I am a self-confessed foodie and I love to cook, bake, and eat out as much as possible. Here are some things I love: My friends and family, travelling, fresh flowers, good books, having breakfast on my balcony, horror films, Christmas, tea, Las Vegas, lie-ins, red wine, Liverpool FC, music, sausage dogs, Spain, rare steak, fashion, cheese, American TV series and camping. And here are my pet hates: People dressed as animals, whistling, being rushed, being made to wait, girls who act stupid to impress a man, spiders, sunburn and rocket (it comes with EVERYTHING!)

One response »

  1. Pingback: Food Diary – Two | hannahhotcakes

Leave a Reply

