RSS Feed

Recipe – Bourbon Bacon Pancakes

First of all, Happy Pancake Day! One of the best days of the year and the perfect excuse for a night of indulgence!

Whilst I am fan of the traditional pancake toppings, I also like to experiment a bit and these bad boys are incredible…crispy bacon, maple syrup and bourbon make a pretty perfect combination.

pc5

We always have bourbon in the house for an impromptu cocktail but this recipe sees it mixed with sweet maple syrup to create a grown-up drizzle for your pancakes…and quite frankly any recipe is better with bacon!

pc9

However, this is not only topped with bacon but there is also bacon in the pancake mix too – bacon squared!

I used my regular old pancake mix of 110g of plain flour, 2 eggs and half a pint of milk whisked together until smooth then left to chill in the fridge for about half an hour or so.

pc6

I fried the streaky bacon until crispy and crumbled a couple of rashers into the pancake mix.pc2pc1

Of course, the chef gets an extra nibble too!

pc8

For the drizzle, I tipped about 100ml of maple syrup into a small pan, and added half a teaspoon of vanilla extract and a good glug of bourbon.

pc4

After frying the pancake until golden, top with some bacon rashers, drizzle over the maple, vanilla and bourbon glaze and tuck in!

As I type, Ian is frying up round two but these would be lovely one weekend for brunch too.

How did you have your pancakes this year? x

About hannahhotcakes

My name is Hannah. I live near Bath in a lovely village in the Cotswolds with my husband Ian, the love of my life for the past 10 years, in our dream cottage. I have landed my dream job as a primary school teacher and I can’t think of anything else I would rather be doing. I am a self-confessed foodie and I love to cook, bake, and eat out as much as possible. Here are some things I love: My friends and family, travelling, fresh flowers, good books, having breakfast on my balcony, horror films, Christmas, tea, Las Vegas, lie-ins, red wine, Liverpool FC, music, sausage dogs, Spain, rare steak, fashion, cheese, American TV series and camping. And here are my pet hates: People dressed as animals, whistling, being rushed, being made to wait, girls who act stupid to impress a man, spiders, sunburn and rocket (it comes with EVERYTHING!)

3 responses »

  1. This looks amazing! We had American Style ones with nutella and sprinkles and also some banana and blueberries for a little goodness!

    Reply
  2. Pingback: 2014 | hannahhotcakes

Leave a Reply

