RSS Feed

My Current TV Favourites

It’s funny how I can go from feeling like there is absolute rubbish on TV, even though we pay a silly amount for Sky each month, to feeling like there aren’t enough hours in the day to fit in all the good programmes I want to watch!

At the moment, I am feeling the latter – there seems to be so much good stuff on lately, paired with the fact that we have Netflix which offers instant access to a whole range of wonderful films and series. Here is what I am currently loving…

True Detective download

I’ve only seen two episodes of this new drama on Sky Atlantic but I’m already hooked. Ian has a bit of a thing for Matthew McConaughey (!) and paired with Woody Harrelson, this series has the potential to be great. Jumping back and forth throughout the years, this series seems to be centred on a gruesome occult killing but the acting and dialogue is superb too.

US Office download (1)

I’m a bit late to the party with this one but I never actually watched the US version of one of my favourite British dramas so Ian and I are slowly making our way through the series, watching one most nights on the iPad in bed. They can get slightly repetitive in place but I do enjoy them, especially watching Pam and Jim edge closer towards getting together.

Gossip Girl download (2)

A bit of a Netflix guilty pleasure for me. I tend to have this series playing in the background when I am cooking, baking or doing the ironing. It’s easy to watch and fantasise about living a carefree New York life with amazing wardrobes like Blair and Serena! I have to admit that I loved the first few series but I am on series 5 now and it is starting to drag.

Hostages download (3)

This is the new series on Channel 4 from the same people who did Homeland. It started well but I’m finding it a bit far-fetched now. As you can probably tell, I hate to give up on a film, book or series halfway through as I always hold out hope that they will get better!

Girls images

Without a doubt, one of the best things on TV at the moment. Gritty, realistic and flippin’ hilarious, I love Lena Dunham’s series – even more so because the lead character is called Hannah! This has been called ‘a modern-day Sex and the City’ but I think it is pretty brilliant in its own right.

The Following download (4)

I am amazed that this series isn’t more popular as it’s one Ian and I look forward to each week. Kevin Bacon plays the lead role here in a dark series about a serial killer and his cult following. This is like a mini horror film every week and I have been known to scream in parts! This also has a very cool soundtrack and we have actually downloaded some songs from it.

My Guilty Pleasures I get home from work at least an hour before Ian and after a hard day, I like nothing more than to relax on the sofa with a cup of tea and watch something ‘easy’ to help me relax and switch off. My current favourites which I admit are far from highbrow but so trashy I love them are:

The Great British Sewing Bee: despite not being able to sew I love this programme and think Claudia is the perfect presenter. Also, how hot is Patrick?!

download (5)

Hair: another programme similar to the Sewing Bee in that there are weekly challenges for the stylists to complete. I just love seeing how creative the contestants are, although some styles border on the ridiculous!

download (6)

The Taste: three amazing chefs on a not so amazing show. I think The Taste had the potential to be great but I hate the way the contest element of it is so drawn out. Chef Ludo is another of my current TV crushes!

download (7)

Keeping Up With the Kardashians: need I say more?!

download (8)

So…am I missing any other good series at the moment? x

About hannahhotcakes

My name is Hannah. I live near Bath in a lovely village in the Cotswolds with my husband Ian, the love of my life for the past 10 years, in our dream cottage. I have landed my dream job as a primary school teacher and I can’t think of anything else I would rather be doing. I am a self-confessed foodie and I love to cook, bake, and eat out as much as possible. Here are some things I love: My friends and family, travelling, fresh flowers, good books, having breakfast on my balcony, horror films, Christmas, tea, Las Vegas, lie-ins, red wine, Liverpool FC, music, sausage dogs, Spain, rare steak, fashion, cheese, American TV series and camping. And here are my pet hates: People dressed as animals, whistling, being rushed, being made to wait, girls who act stupid to impress a man, spiders, sunburn and rocket (it comes with EVERYTHING!)

One response »

  1. Pingback: 2014 | hannahhotcakes

Leave a Reply

