RSS Feed

Gig Review – Twenty One Pilots

As always, it has been a busy first week of term for me, including a trip up to the Natural History Museum in London on Thursday which wiped me out! Unfortunately, blogging has had to take a bit of a back seat but I did find time for a midweek gig to see one of my new favourite bands, Twenty One Pilots.

gig9 gig10

Ian and I headed over to Bristol on Tuesday night to watch them at Thekla, quite possibly the coolest gig venue in the South West…on a boat!

gig2

We arrived just in time to see the second support band, Prides, who were actually pretty good.

This was my first time seeing Twenty One Pilots and they did not disappoint with a high energy show full of acrobatics and a good mix of songs from both of their albums. They started off wearing their trademark balaclavas but soon changed into a variety of hats and t-shirts.

gig11

Their electro sound is not my usual choice of music but there is something about this group and their lyrics that I love and Ian and I were bouncing around for the whole set!

gig7

My highlight was the encore where the duo stood over the crowd (as in on top of metal sheets whilst the crowds held them up) with light-up drumsticks playing drum solos…it was like something from the Blue Man Group!

gig14 gig15

That was definitely my highlight of a week which seems to have flown by. We have started a bit of a healthy eating regime so I have been playing around with several new recipes and will of course share any winners on here.

gig1 gig8

March seems to have started with a burst of sunshine so Ian and I are off for a walk in our wellies now! x

About hannahhotcakes

My name is Hannah. I live near Bath in a lovely village in the Cotswolds with my husband Ian, the love of my life for the past 10 years, in our dream cottage. I have landed my dream job as a primary school teacher and I can’t think of anything else I would rather be doing. I am a self-confessed foodie and I love to cook, bake, and eat out as much as possible. Here are some things I love: My friends and family, travelling, fresh flowers, good books, having breakfast on my balcony, horror films, Christmas, tea, Las Vegas, lie-ins, red wine, Liverpool FC, music, sausage dogs, Spain, rare steak, fashion, cheese, American TV series and camping. And here are my pet hates: People dressed as animals, whistling, being rushed, being made to wait, girls who act stupid to impress a man, spiders, sunburn and rocket (it comes with EVERYTHING!)

One response »

  1. Pingback: 2014 | hannahhotcakes

Leave a Reply

