RSS Feed

Beauty Review – MW Nails, Spitalfields

This weekend, we headed up to London to celebrate my friend Lucie’s birthday. After refuelling with a cuppa after the drive up, we headed over to Spitalfields market for a spot of lunch in Leon, a mooch around the market stalls and a bit of pampering with a manicure.

mw1

Located on the very edge of the markets, MW Nails is a unique nail salon. I love anything a bit retro and this place had such a fun and original interior. Taken from real aeroplane interiors, the entire nail salon has an aero theme, from the ‘arrivals’ and ‘departures’ signs to the fitted seats.

mw4mw10

I was really pleased to see that they used Essie and OPI nail polishes and all three of us had a hard time deciding which colour to go for!

mw3

I was pretty much ready to go with Essie’s Lots of Lux, a gorgeous sparkling blue, until I saw another girl get a rather fabulous looking black manicure which changed my mind!

mw7

No longer reserved for goths and angst-ridden teenagers, black nails – when done well  – can look incredibly cool. I decided to hunt out an off-black shade and found it in Essie’s Stylenomics, a rich, deep green.

mw8 mw9

I loved the fact that the three of us could sit side by side whilst we had our nails done and chat away. The therapists were really friendly too and I think this is a fabulous place to go with friends to combine a good catch up with a great manicure!

Here are our three (very different!) choices – a deep green, an electric teal and a bright orange-red shade.

mw11

We opted for the Rapid Rio Manicure which cost £19.

About hannahhotcakes

My name is Hannah. I live near Bath in a lovely village in the Cotswolds with my husband Ian, the love of my life for the past 10 years, in our dream cottage. I have landed my dream job as a primary school teacher and I can’t think of anything else I would rather be doing. I am a self-confessed foodie and I love to cook, bake, and eat out as much as possible. Here are some things I love: My friends and family, travelling, fresh flowers, good books, having breakfast on my balcony, horror films, Christmas, tea, Las Vegas, lie-ins, red wine, Liverpool FC, music, sausage dogs, Spain, rare steak, fashion, cheese, American TV series and camping. And here are my pet hates: People dressed as animals, whistling, being rushed, being made to wait, girls who act stupid to impress a man, spiders, sunburn and rocket (it comes with EVERYTHING!)

One response »

  1. Pingback: 2014 | hannahhotcakes

Leave a Reply

