RSS Feed

Recipe – Baked Blueberry Swirl Cheesecake

As usual, this half term has flown by. We are halfway through having new doors and windows fitted so I escaped to stay with my parents for a few days. My Mum also completed her 6th and final round of chemotherapy so despite her feeling awful, we celebrated getting through what has been a very tough couple of months.

ch16 ch17

Today’s recipe is one I made a few weeks ago to take with us to Sunday lunch at our best friends’ house. I love a baked cheesecake and this one looked so good with the deep purple swirls of blueberry.

ch15

I found a recipe online but it made double the amount of filling needed so I have adjusted the quantities slightly.

Ingredients

ch1

300g of digestive biscuits, bashed up into crumbs

150g of melted butter

275g of golden caster sugar

A small tub of fresh blueberries (100-150g)

1 teaspoon of cornflour

2 packs of 300g full-fat Philadelphia

3 tablespoons of plain flour

2 teaspoons of vanilla extract

2 large eggs

140m of sour cream

How to make it

  • Preheat your oven to 200°C, Gas Mark 6, and line your ovenproof cheesecake tray with baking paper
  • Add the melted butter to your biscuit crumbs and combine until it has the consistency of wet sandch3
  • Tip this mixture into your baking tray and press firmly down
  • Bake for 10 minutes and allow to coolch4
  • Tip 25g of the sugar into a small saucepan and add the blueberries
  • Mix the cornflour with a tablespoonful of cold water then add this to the pan tooch5
  • On a low heat, keep stirring the ingredients until the sugar has dissolved and the blueberries have started to break down to create a sauce. Allow to cool
  • In a mixing bowl, whisk the cream cheese until smooth
  • Add the remaining caster sugar and combine
  • Finally, add the plain flour, vanilla extract, eggs and sour cream and whisk togetherch7
  • Pour about half of this mixture onto the cooled biscuit base
  • Spoon half of the blueberry sauce on topch8
  • Cover with the remaining cheesecake mixture then top with the remaining blueberries and saucech9
  • Using the back of a teaspoon, create the swirlsch10
  • Bake in the oven for 10 minutes then reduce the heat to about 100°C, Gas Mark ½ and bake for a further 30 minutes
  • I then left the cheesecake in the oven overnight with the oven door slightly ajar before transferring to the fridge the next morning to ensure it had completely setch11
About hannahhotcakes

My name is Hannah. I live near Bath in a lovely village in the Cotswolds with my husband Ian, the love of my life for the past 10 years, in our dream cottage. I have landed my dream job as a primary school teacher and I can’t think of anything else I would rather be doing. I am a self-confessed foodie and I love to cook, bake, and eat out as much as possible. Here are some things I love: My friends and family, travelling, fresh flowers, good books, having breakfast on my balcony, horror films, Christmas, tea, Las Vegas, lie-ins, red wine, Liverpool FC, music, sausage dogs, Spain, rare steak, fashion, cheese, American TV series and camping. And here are my pet hates: People dressed as animals, whistling, being rushed, being made to wait, girls who act stupid to impress a man, spiders, sunburn and rocket (it comes with EVERYTHING!)

One response »

  1. Pingback: 2014 | hannahhotcakes

Leave a Reply

