RSS Feed

Recipe – Cookies ‘n’ Cream Cupcakes

And so another wet and grey week comes to an end. It’s been a good one but I’m sure I’m not alone in wishing for some sunshine! It took me over an hour to get home on Friday night as the town I drive through was busy putting up their flood defences as we brace ourselves for another wet weekend.

It’s not all bad though. When you can’t go outside, you have to work extra hard to find things to do inside and I can usually be found pottering away in the kitchen.

oreo22

I decided to try out a new cake recipe, with the help of a few packets of Oreo cookies in the cake batter and the icing. These cupcakes are delicious and the crunch of the biscuits add another texture to make these even tastier!

oreo3

Ingredientsoreo24

For the cupcakes

225g of room temperature butter or margarine

225g of caster sugar

225g of self-raising flour

2 teaspoons of baking powder

4 eggs

1 teaspoon of vanilla extract

10 Oreo cookies

For the icing

375g of icing sugar, sieved

225g of room temperature butter

A pinch of salt

10 Oreo cookies

How to make it

  • Begin by preheating the oven to 180°C, Gas Mark 4 and pop your baking cases into a muffin tinoreo1
  • Cream together the butter and sugar then add the self-raising flour, baking powder, eggs and vanilla extract until combinedoreo8 oreo9
  • Bash up the first lot of Oreo cookies – I find a rolling pin and a sandwich bag does the trick!oreo5 oreo7
  • Add the cookie crumbs to the batter and stiroreo11
  • Spoon the cake mixture into the cases – I managed to make about 20 cakesoreo13 oreo18
  • Bake for 20 minutes and allow to cooloreo23
  • For the icing, beat together the icing sugar, butter and saltoreo19
  • Bash up the remaining 10 Oreo cookies then mix these crumbs through the icingoreo20
  • There is no point trying to make this icing look perfect so dollop a spoonful on and smooth it down with the back of a teaspoonoreo26
About hannahhotcakes

My name is Hannah. I live near Bath in a lovely village in the Cotswolds with my husband Ian, the love of my life for the past 10 years, in our dream cottage. I have landed my dream job as a primary school teacher and I can’t think of anything else I would rather be doing. I am a self-confessed foodie and I love to cook, bake, and eat out as much as possible. Here are some things I love: My friends and family, travelling, fresh flowers, good books, having breakfast on my balcony, horror films, Christmas, tea, Las Vegas, lie-ins, red wine, Liverpool FC, music, sausage dogs, Spain, rare steak, fashion, cheese, American TV series and camping. And here are my pet hates: People dressed as animals, whistling, being rushed, being made to wait, girls who act stupid to impress a man, spiders, sunburn and rocket (it comes with EVERYTHING!)

Leave a Reply

