RSS Feed

Recipe – Dark Chocolate and Cranberry Flapjacks

It has been a lovely weekend with what feels like our first bit of sun in ages.

We ploughed on with some DIY yesterday and rewarded ourselves with an Indian takeaway and a good film…my perfect Saturday night in!

flap11

Today, we had various appointments but I am now sat down with my first hot-cross buns of the year and a cup of tea, half watching the football and half meal-planning the week ahead starting with my first ever potato dauphinoise I am going to attempt to accompany our roast lamb dinner tonight…bring on the cream!

flap12

Today’s recipe is one I made earlier this week for a school cake sale, although I ended up buying back a couple of slices for myself because it was so tasty! By stirring the chocolate pieces into the warm mixture right at the end it just starts to melt meaning the whole things tastes chocolatey but there are also lovely chocolate chunks to enjoy with each bite – perfect!

flap3

Ingredients

flap2

150g of unsalted butter or margarine

150g of brown sugar

150g of honey

300g of porridge oats

50g of dried cranberries

100g of good quality dark chocolate, roughly chopped

How to make it

  • Begin by greasing your flapjack tray and preheating the oven to 180°C, Gas Mark 4
  • Next, add your butter, sugar and honey to a saucepan and cook on a low heat until the ingredients have melted and come togetherflap1
  • Now add your oats and cranberries and mix well
  • Finally, add the chocolate pieces and give the mixture a final stirflap4
  • Pour the flapjack mixture into the tin and roughly pat downflap5
  • Bake for around 20 minutes until golden brownflap7
  • Leave to cool then cut into slicesflap9 flap10
About hannahhotcakes

My name is Hannah. I live near Bath in a lovely village in the Cotswolds with my husband Ian, the love of my life for the past 10 years, in our dream cottage. I have landed my dream job as a primary school teacher and I can’t think of anything else I would rather be doing. I am a self-confessed foodie and I love to cook, bake, and eat out as much as possible. Here are some things I love: My friends and family, travelling, fresh flowers, good books, having breakfast on my balcony, horror films, Christmas, tea, Las Vegas, lie-ins, red wine, Liverpool FC, music, sausage dogs, Spain, rare steak, fashion, cheese, American TV series and camping. And here are my pet hates: People dressed as animals, whistling, being rushed, being made to wait, girls who act stupid to impress a man, spiders, sunburn and rocket (it comes with EVERYTHING!)

3 responses »

  1. Hello Hannah I have just made these flapjacks they are totally delicious Keep them coming ! Kind Regards Alice xx

    ________________________________

    Reply
  2. Pingback: 2014 | hannahhotcakes

Leave a Reply

