RSS Feed

Beauty Review – January Birchbox

There was a cake sale in school today so I spent a lovely evening baking and have some delicious recipes to post soon. Firstly, I wanted to share this month’s Birchbox with you (before the month is over!)

As expected, this month’s theme is all about the new year and a new start to your beauty routine. They seem to have done away with their little drawstring bags, instead wrapping the goodies with tissue paper.

Here was my first look…

bb8

The first thing I noticed was this big bottle of Tommyguns Fig, Plum and Marshmallow conditioner – no mini samples here! This stuff smells amazing and I cannot wait to try it out. I will probably buy the shampoo too so I can test the range out together.

bb9

Next, a Benefit product – one of my favourite brands. The POREfessional is somewhat of a cult product and is a primer that can be used over or under make up. It feels very lightweight to apply and transforms into a beautiful velvet finish, with great coverage, when blended. I can see myself buying the full-sized version of this!

bb1 bb2

I can always find a place for a new shower gel and this one by Noble Isle in ‘Willow Song’ smells wonderful. It claims to evoke the fresh green of the British countryside and whilst it is lovely, I can’t see myself buying the full-sized bottles at £20 a pop.

bb10

Next, a cleanser by Vasanti. I love using foaming facial cleansers at the end of the day, so this one is next on my list to try out.

bb3

The final beauty piece is a moisturising body oil by Premae. I haven’t heard of this brand but I’m not a huge fan of body oils – I much prefer a body butter or cream. This is probably my least favourite item in this month’s box.

bb4

Finally, I love the fact that Birchbox includes a little extra non-beauty related item in most of its boxes and this month it was some miso soup. Light, healthy and tasty, I’m sure I can find a recipe to use this in.

bb5

Overall, I really liked this month’s box. I think it has a really good variety of products with a few treats to test out.

I’m off out now for some dinner (trying to choose between sushi and burgers!) then seeing Russell Kane tomorrow night…it’s almost Friday! x

About hannahhotcakes

My name is Hannah. I live near Bath in a lovely village in the Cotswolds with my husband Ian, the love of my life for the past 10 years, in our dream cottage. I have landed my dream job as a primary school teacher and I can’t think of anything else I would rather be doing. I am a self-confessed foodie and I love to cook, bake, and eat out as much as possible. Here are some things I love: My friends and family, travelling, fresh flowers, good books, having breakfast on my balcony, horror films, Christmas, tea, Las Vegas, lie-ins, red wine, Liverpool FC, music, sausage dogs, Spain, rare steak, fashion, cheese, American TV series and camping. And here are my pet hates: People dressed as animals, whistling, being rushed, being made to wait, girls who act stupid to impress a man, spiders, sunburn and rocket (it comes with EVERYTHING!)

Leave a Reply

