RSS Feed

Recipe – Chocolate Orange Doughnuts

This week, I decided to try out my new doughnut tray which I received from my Mum for Christmas. Now I definitely can’t call these ‘healthy’ doughnuts but they are miniature and definitely better than their deep-fried counterparts!

dn4

This cute silicone mini-doughnut tray is from Lakeland and I found a great basic recipe on their website to get me started. We still have lots of chocolate leftover from Christmas and when I spotted a Terry’s Chocolate Orange in the cupboard I knew it would make a delicious icing for my doughnuts!

dn16

I wanted to add some sprinkles too but as the doughnuts are so small, I decided to use some edible glitter this time and they looked amazing – almost cartoon-like!

dn9

Ingredients (for one full tray)

75g of plain flour

Half a teaspoon of baking powder

A pinch of salt

55g of caster sugar

60ml of milk

1 egg

1 teaspoon of olive oil

Half a teaspoon of vanilla extract (I have since made another batch using almond extract too!)

Chocolate for melting (I used about half of a Chocolate Orange)

How to make it

  • Begin by preheating your oven to 160°C, Gas Mark 3 and brush the doughnut tray with some oil
  • In a mixing bowl, sift the flour, baking powder and salt then add the sugar
  • In a separate bowl, or measuring jug, whisk together the milk, egg, olive oil and vanilla extract
  • Add the wet ingredients to the dry and mix welldn18 dn17
  • Use a teaspoon to fill each of the doughnut cups three-quarters full with the batterdn20
  • Bake for 8-12 minutes until slightly golden and firm but springy to the touchdn12
  • Allow to cool
  • Melt your chocolate either over a saucepan of boiling water or in the microwavedn13 dn14
  • Dip each doughnut into the chocolate and allow to set – I found that swirling a toothpick around the inside hole of the doughnut meant that the chocolate wouldn’t close up the gap!dn7
  • Whilst the chocolate is still wet, sprinkle over the edible glitter and allow to setdn5dn10
About hannahhotcakes

My name is Hannah. I live near Bath in a lovely village in the Cotswolds with my husband Ian, the love of my life for the past 10 years, in our dream cottage. I have landed my dream job as a primary school teacher and I can’t think of anything else I would rather be doing. I am a self-confessed foodie and I love to cook, bake, and eat out as much as possible. Here are some things I love: My friends and family, travelling, fresh flowers, good books, having breakfast on my balcony, horror films, Christmas, tea, Las Vegas, lie-ins, red wine, Liverpool FC, music, sausage dogs, Spain, rare steak, fashion, cheese, American TV series and camping. And here are my pet hates: People dressed as animals, whistling, being rushed, being made to wait, girls who act stupid to impress a man, spiders, sunburn and rocket (it comes with EVERYTHING!)

One response »

  1. Pingback: 2014 | hannahhotcakes

Leave a Reply

