RSS Feed

Recipe – Thai Chicken Noodle Soup

Sunday nights can vary for me. If I know I have left things to the last minute then it can be a slightly stressful affair trying to get myself ready for school, tidy the house, do some laundry and paint my nails. At other times I can fit so much in to my weekend that I don’t really feel like I have had a break so start to get those Sunday night blues about having to go back to work so soon.

thai9

Tonight however, I feel quite content with things. My aim was to get our conservatory prepped, primed and painted this weekend and we have achieved this. We also had a cinema date this afternoon to watch The Wolf of Wall Street (a must-see in my opinion!) so it hasn’t been all work and no play. There is a roast dinner in the oven, I am more or less up-to-date with work stuff and I may even squeeze in a quick manicure too…not a bad Sunday night really!

thai8

I wanted to post this recipe on a Sunday because it is a great recipe for using up your leftover meat from a roast dinner – chicken, pork and beef will work especially well. I actually used chicken breast pieces in mine but I often cook this soup on Mondays with whatever meat we have from our Sunday roast and it is delicious!

The beauty of this recipe is that you can play around with the ingredients depending on what you like and what is in season. You could use fish or tofu, or keep it veggie and add lots of seasonal vegetables to this vibrant dish.

thai3

Ingredients

Enough roasted meat for two people or two chicken breasts, chopped into bite-sized chunks

3-4 teaspoons of thai curry paste (I used thai green curry)

1 can of coconut milk (I used the reduced fat stuff this time)

1 small tin of sweetcorn

3 carrots, thinly sliced

3 spring onions, diagonally sliced

2 sheets of egg noodles

A handful of fresh coriander

How to make it

  • If you are using raw chicken breasts, begin by browning off your meat in a little oil until golden brown and cooked through. Set your meat to one side when done.
  • In a saucepan, add your curry paste and cook on a low heat for a few minutes until the spices have started to release their fragrances
  • Add the meat to the pan and stir wellthai1
  • Add the coconut milk and simmer on a low heat, stirring continuously for 3-5 minutesthai2
  • Meanwhile, pour some boiling water on your noodles and allow to soften for a few minutes
  • Now add your vegetables and noodles to the panthai4
  • Heat through then serve with a generous sprinkling of fresh corianderthai6
About hannahhotcakes

My name is Hannah. I live near Bath in a lovely village in the Cotswolds with my husband Ian, the love of my life for the past 10 years, in our dream cottage. I have landed my dream job as a primary school teacher and I can’t think of anything else I would rather be doing. I am a self-confessed foodie and I love to cook, bake, and eat out as much as possible. Here are some things I love: My friends and family, travelling, fresh flowers, good books, having breakfast on my balcony, horror films, Christmas, tea, Las Vegas, lie-ins, red wine, Liverpool FC, music, sausage dogs, Spain, rare steak, fashion, cheese, American TV series and camping. And here are my pet hates: People dressed as animals, whistling, being rushed, being made to wait, girls who act stupid to impress a man, spiders, sunburn and rocket (it comes with EVERYTHING!)

Leave a Reply

