RSS Feed

Recipe – Banana and Chocolate Muffins

The first working week of the year is done and to be honest it feels like I’ve never been away! I am already feeling ill again – sore throat, aching and no appetite – so sent myself off to bed early last night and will be taking it easy this weekend. Moan over!

ban14

Today’s recipe is quite healthy as far as cakes and sweet things ago. There isn’t very much sugar in here, there is lots of fresh fruit and dark chocolate is said to have good antioxidant qualities so don’t feel guilty about making these then eating three in a row like I did!

ban4

Ingredients

ban15

350g of plain flour

150g of caster sugar (plus a bit more for sprinkling)

A pinch of salt

1 heaped teaspoon of baking powder

Half a teaspoon of bicarbonate of soda

2 teaspoons of cinnamon

375ml of buttermilk

1 egg

Half a teaspoon of vanilla extract

70g of melted butter or margarine (unsalted)

4 ripe bananas, mashed

About 100g of good quality dark chocolate, roughly chopped

How to make it

  • Begin by preheating the oven to 160°C, Gas Mark 3
  • Combine the flour, sugar, salt, baking powder, bicarbonate of soda and cinnamon together in a mixing bowlban16
  • In a separate jug, mix together the buttermilk, egg and vanilla
  • Slowly pour the wet mixture into the dry and ensure it is well mixedban12
  • Pour in the melted butter and give it another good stir
  • Do the same with the bananasban13
  • And finally, mix through the chocolate chunksban6
  • Spoon the cake batter into cupcake or muffin cases – I used some larger spotted muffin cases and some little silicone cupcake onesban8
  • Sprinkle a pinch of caster sugar over each cake before putting in the oven for a bit of extra crunch when baked
  • Cook for 20-30 minutes or until a skewer comes out clean (the cupcakes took 20 minutes in my oven, the larger muffins about 33 minutes!)ban9
  • I urge you to have at least one of these while it is still warm for the oven and the chocolate is melted then pop the others in an airtight tin when cooled and enjoy with a cuppa or for breakfast.ban1 ban3
About hannahhotcakes

My name is Hannah. I live near Bath in a lovely village in the Cotswolds with my husband Ian, the love of my life for the past 10 years, in our dream cottage. I have landed my dream job as a primary school teacher and I can’t think of anything else I would rather be doing. I am a self-confessed foodie and I love to cook, bake, and eat out as much as possible. Here are some things I love: My friends and family, travelling, fresh flowers, good books, having breakfast on my balcony, horror films, Christmas, tea, Las Vegas, lie-ins, red wine, Liverpool FC, music, sausage dogs, Spain, rare steak, fashion, cheese, American TV series and camping. And here are my pet hates: People dressed as animals, whistling, being rushed, being made to wait, girls who act stupid to impress a man, spiders, sunburn and rocket (it comes with EVERYTHING!)

One response »

  1. Mmm these look delicious, especially the inside!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

