RSS Feed

Restaurant Review – Hudson Steakhouse, Bath

It seems I couldn’t even make it through the first week back at work without sleeping through my alarm and running late! Despite a slightly rushed and manic start to the day, there is only one day to go until the weekend and we have a new DIY project to start.

Today’s post is one for the carnivores as Ian and I visited Hudson Steakhouse this week to celebrate our 10 year anniversary. I had been wanting to try this place for a while but it is a bit on the pricey side so I was waiting for something of a special occasion to justify a visit.

hud1

Voted number three in the UK’s Top Ten Steakhouses, Hudson is a classy joint and the candlelit booths are cosy and romantic.

No wine or cocktails due to us trying to complete ‘Dry January’ but we did order a delicious mixed starter platter which included buffalo mozzarella with vine tomatoes, olives, basil and balsamic, chicken liver parfait with parmesan crostini, duck salad with a sesame and soy dressing, slivers of orange and crispy wontons, tempura tiger prawns  with a spicy ponzu dip and a crab and avocado remoulade topped with lime wasabi and black caviar.

hud2

Apologies for the poor quality photo but I was so eager to tuck in I didn’t realise I hadn’t put the flash on my camera!

All elements of this dish were wonderful and I think I would be hard pushed to pick a favourite.

For our mains there was no question about our choices as they had both of our favourite cuts of steak on the menu; prime fillet for me and porterhouse for Ian, cooked rare with a two huge garlic king prawns on the side.

hud3

We were a little bit greedy with our side dishes as we simply couldn’t choose between the parmesan truffle fries and dauphinoise potato gratin so ordered both! I felt we should have some sort of vegetable on the table too so we also had some garlic Portobello mushrooms.

The steaks were absolutely divine. You could taste the quality here and they were both cooked perfectly. My fillet was melt-in-the-mouth tender and Ian’s porterhouse was wonderfully marbled and full of flavour.

Despite being pretty full, we decided to share a pudding and had the chocolate and espresso mousse served with salted peanut brittle – a lovely combination.

hud4

I noticed there is also an early bird steak special but the à la carte menu here at Hudsons is really great so I would recommend saving up and coming here for a truly special dinner.

About hannahhotcakes

My name is Hannah. I live near Bath in a lovely village in the Cotswolds with my husband Ian, the love of my life for the past 10 years, in our dream cottage. I have landed my dream job as a primary school teacher and I can’t think of anything else I would rather be doing. I am a self-confessed foodie and I love to cook, bake, and eat out as much as possible. Here are some things I love: My friends and family, travelling, fresh flowers, good books, having breakfast on my balcony, horror films, Christmas, tea, Las Vegas, lie-ins, red wine, Liverpool FC, music, sausage dogs, Spain, rare steak, fashion, cheese, American TV series and camping. And here are my pet hates: People dressed as animals, whistling, being rushed, being made to wait, girls who act stupid to impress a man, spiders, sunburn and rocket (it comes with EVERYTHING!)

Leave a Reply

