RSS Feed

Food Diary – One

Like a large chunk of the UK population, I started the year trying to put my naughty Christmas eating habits to one side and focus on making sure I was eating slightly less and a bit healthier. I am loathe to use the word ‘diet’ as, to me, that indicates something temporary whereas I wanted to get back into the healthy eating routine I was in before Christmas made it OK to have cheese and cream as one of my daily food groups!

I decided that rather than keeping a food diary (something I have found useful in the past), I would go digital and photograph my food for a week to see where I could make some improvements.

I often photograph the food I make and share it on here or Instagram but this was slightly different in that I was taking a picture of everything, even my boring bottle of Actimel I have each morning!

January 1st

I don’t know how people can start their new routines and resolutions on the 1st – I always have to wait until the 2nd as I’m usually a hungover carb-craving mess! I woke up to 2014 at my friend Lucie’s house, who was the hostess with the mostess and made us the best fry-up, complete with a large plate of pastries to start the year off.

jan 1st

After a long drive home, Ian and I spent the evening grazing on leftover Christmas snacks and cheese and drinking lots of tea and coffee.

January 2nd

I started the day with an Actimel drink and a peach yogurt mixed with granola. I didn’t actually eat this until about 11:30 so just had an apple for a snack in the afternoon and for dinner we had pancetta, chicken and ricotta ravioli with a lovely garlicky pesto and Parmesan.

jan 2nd 1 jan 2nd 2 jan 2nd 5

Treat? My treat for the day was a slice of chocolate yule log.

jan 2nd 6

Exercise? I forced myself to go on my first run of the year – a 6km lap of our village.

jan 2nd 7

January 3rd

Another Actimel drink and a pineapple yogurt with some granola for breakfast. Lunch was cheesy beans on tiger bread toast followed by a satsuma. I had a strange craving that night for something pickled and found these gherkins in the cupboard – no, it’s not a pregnancy craving, I always have unusual foodie urges! For dinner, I made a healthy, wholesome vegetable stew of onions, carrots, swede, parsnips, potatoes, tomatoes and lots of herbs. I couldn’t resist a bit of cheese on top too.

jan 3rd 1 jan 3rd 3 jan 3rd 4 jan 3rd 5 jan 3rd 6 jan 3rd 7

Treat? Another slice of chocolate yule log, this time heated up and topped with cream.

jan 3rd 2

Exercise? Another 6km run

January 4th

I started the day with an Actimel then vanilla yogurt with granola and fresh pomegranate seeds. Lunch was toasted tiger bread with scrambled eggs, grilled tomatoes and some hot sauce. Dinner was my Cheeseboard Quiche with salad, still hot and slightly gooey from the oven!

jan 4th 3 jan 4th 5 cheese5

Treat? Warmed chocolate yule log and cream

jan 4th 1

Exercise?  My 50 minute step DVD

jan 4th 4

January 5th

Just an Actimel for breakfast today, followed by coffee and a warm banana and chocolate muffin, straight from the oven! For lunch, I had a slice of the Cheeseboard Quiche with salad and another serving of stew for dinner.

jan 5th 1 jan 5th 3jan 5th 2 jan 5th 4 jan 5th 5

Treat? Another muffin!

Exercise? A short 2km run…it started raining!

January 6th

First day back at work and the return of my challenge to make interesting lunches! I started the day with an Actimel, yogurt, granola and fresh pomegranate seeds (and managed to get the juice everywhere!) For lunch, I finished off the last slice of my Cheeseboard Quiche with some salad and then had half a pizza with extra artichokes on top for dinner.

jan 6th 1 jan 6th 2 jan 6th 3jan 6th 5

Treat? Two mini chocolates with a cuppa.

jan 6th 6

Exercise? My Pilates class – I thought it would be a gentle one but my teacher had other ideas!

January 7th

Our anniversary! I knew we would be going out for dinner that night so I tried to be really good all day. I am a creature of habit when I find something I like and breakfast today was once again an Actimel, yogurt and granola. For lunch, I had a bowl of hot tomato and basil soup then had the most wonderful steak dinner with my beau. We didn’t hold back and had a sharing platter, steak with two potato-based side dishes and an espresso chocolate mousse for dessert. I was so full waddling walking back to the car!

jan 7th 1jan 6th 4 jan 7th 2 jan 7th 3

Treat? Our dinner!

Exercise? Not today, although I was on my feet all day at work.

So there is a week in food pictures! I would say it is a pretty standard representation of what we eat but there is one thing missing that would usually pop up on there every couple of days…BOOZE!

Ian and I are trying to do ‘Dry January’ and I hadn’t found it too tough until we were in the restaurant last night and I started craving a G&T and a glass of red! I don’t drink too much but I do want to see this challenge through.

Although I am doing this to get a bit fitter and healthier, I couldn’t resist jumping on the scales to see if giving up the booze and cutting back a bit had made any difference to my weight. I was pleased to have lost 2.4lbs this week and I really don’t feel like I have made any major sacrifices or missed out on anything too much. Also, knowing I was going to photograph everything I ate made me think again when I was tempted to have another cake or piece of chocolate so I think I will continue to review my diet this way.

Are you trying to be good and eat better this January? x

About hannahhotcakes

My name is Hannah. I live near Bath in a lovely village in the Cotswolds with my husband Ian, the love of my life for the past 10 years, in our dream cottage. I have landed my dream job as a primary school teacher and I can’t think of anything else I would rather be doing. I am a self-confessed foodie and I love to cook, bake, and eat out as much as possible. Here are some things I love: My friends and family, travelling, fresh flowers, good books, having breakfast on my balcony, horror films, Christmas, tea, Las Vegas, lie-ins, red wine, Liverpool FC, music, sausage dogs, Spain, rare steak, fashion, cheese, American TV series and camping. And here are my pet hates: People dressed as animals, whistling, being rushed, being made to wait, girls who act stupid to impress a man, spiders, sunburn and rocket (it comes with EVERYTHING!)

One response »

  1. I’m glad I’m not the only non pregnant person who craves food like gherkins!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

