RSS Feed

My Bedtime Beauty Routine

I often wonder how ‘professional’ beauty bloggers manage to give something a really good and honest review when they seem to use about 5 different products on their face morning and night and are constantly trying out different foundations and face masks.

I have a fairly standard evening beauty routine that I have honed over the past year or so, testing out the odd new product here and there and this current one works for me at this time of year when my skin is on the dry side from the constant central heating inside and cold winds outside.

bed12

First of all, I tie my hair back (it’s just about long enough!) and use my beloved Liz Earle ‘Cleanse and Polish Hot Cloth Cleanser’ with a soft muslin cloth to remove most of my makeup. There is a reason why this is such a cult product and although it is a bit pricey it’s one that I repurchase as soon as it has run out. Saying that, I have bought another couple of these cleansers to try out soon to see how they compare.

bed14

After drying my face I cleanse again using Clinique’s Take The Day Off Cleansing Milk. The reason I don’t use this alone is that I find it stings slightly around the eyes. This may just be me as I have quite sensitive eyes, but it’s a lovely fresh formula on the rest of my face.

bed8

Next I tone using B. Pure Micellar Water, a dupe for Bioderma and a fraction of the price too!

bed15

I use a serum next. I really like the Vitamin E one from The Body Shop but I have several from recent Birchboxes I am trying to use up and currently apply Matriskin’s Collagen Serum. I love that this comes with a little pipette and I feel like a scientist applying it!

bed3 bed4

Despite having put this product on last for years, I then apply an eye cream or gel. Apparently, applying this before the night cream means it is ‘sealed in’ better to work its magic. I am using a festive Frankincense and Orange Blossom Eye Gel from a little shop in Bath and I love how cooling the gel feels at the end of a long day.

bed9

Next I moisturise. I am currently finishing off my tub of Rose Co Rose Water which I reviewed here. I love the rose scent it leaves on my skin and it is a great moisturiser.

bed10

A bit of lip balm and that it is it for the face. I like these Roll-on lip oils by The Body Shop and have a few different flavours.

bed1

I finish off with some Burt’s Bees Cuticle Cream and then a hand and foot cream – I’m currently using Hand Food and Heel Genius both by Soap and Glory.

bed2 bed6 bed7

Once a week I have also been using this Body Shop Vitamin E Moisturising Mask. I really like that this is just like a thick cream that sits on the skin rather than a clay mask that dries and makes you feel as though you can’t move your face.

bed5

Of course, there are the occasional, lazy days when I do reach for the face wipes but on the whole I have been trying to be good and do the coveted ‘double cleanse’ and I have to say my skin is feeling rather good because of it!

What is your bedtime beauty routine? x

About hannahhotcakes

My name is Hannah. I live near Bath in a lovely village in the Cotswolds with my husband Ian, the love of my life for the past 10 years, in our dream cottage. I have landed my dream job as a primary school teacher and I can’t think of anything else I would rather be doing. I am a self-confessed foodie and I love to cook, bake, and eat out as much as possible. Here are some things I love: My friends and family, travelling, fresh flowers, good books, having breakfast on my balcony, horror films, Christmas, tea, Las Vegas, lie-ins, red wine, Liverpool FC, music, sausage dogs, Spain, rare steak, fashion, cheese, American TV series and camping. And here are my pet hates: People dressed as animals, whistling, being rushed, being made to wait, girls who act stupid to impress a man, spiders, sunburn and rocket (it comes with EVERYTHING!)

4 responses »

  1. You can’t beat Liz Earle Hot Cloth Cleanser – it’s a great product! Good review 🙂

    Reply
  2. I bought the Body Shop Vitamin E facemask and think its great
    Thank you

    Reply
  3. Pingback: 2014 | hannahhotcakes

Leave a Reply

