RSS Feed

Recipe – Cheeseboard Quiche

I thought this recipe would be useful to post in the New Year because I am sure, like me, many of you still have a fridge packed with cheese leftover from Christmas.

cheese19

Alas, the daily cheeseboards I enjoyed over the festive period are no more so I wanted a way to use up all of this cheese and make something delicious with it.

This quiche is so easy to put together and it is one of those great recipes that will work with pretty much any cheese you have hanging around in your fridge – I used a mixture of Stilton, St Agur, Double Gloucester with onion and chives, Wensleydale with apricots and Port Salut. I actually dreamt about this quiche last night after having a big slice for dinner…it’s that good!

cheese3

Now if you are busy or have a bit of a fear about making pastry from scratch then by all means buy some ready-made shortcrust pastry or a pre-made base – this quiche is really all about the filling.

cheese4

However, I decided to christen my new KitchenAid (a Christmas present from my lovely husband!) last night and made my pastry from scratch. I will include the pastry details in the recipe for those of you that want to have a go!

cheese22

Before I start with the recipe details, let’s just take a minute to appreciate this appliance in all its beautiful pistachio-coloured glory:

cheese26 cheese27

Ingredients

cheese20

250g of plain flour

125g of cold butter, cut into cubes

A pinch of salt

Cold water

4 rashers of streaky bacon, cut into chunks

2 onions, sliced

2 eggs

284ml of single cream

Salt and pepper

A pinch of mixed herbs (you could use fresh or dry herbs)

250g of mixed cheeses

How to make it

  • Begin by making your pastry. Combine the flour, butter and salt until they have the appearance of breadcrumbscheese23 cheese24
  • Add 4-5 tablespoons of cold water and start to work into a dough
  • Tip the contents onto a floured surface and knead gently until your dough has come together to form a ballcheese25
  • Wrap it in clingfilm and chill for about half an hour
  • Preheat the oven to 180°C, Gas Mark 4
  • While the dough is chilling, fry the bacon until lightly browned and then the onions for about 10 minutes until they have softened and turned golden then put to one sidecheese16 cheese17
  • Mix together the eggs, cream, salt, pepper and mixed herbs
  • Get your chilled pastry dough and roll it out on a floured surface until it will cover your quiche dishcheese11
  • Lay the dough inside your dish (I always rub a little olive oil over the surface first) and using a smaller piece of leftover dough, gently push it in to all the edges. I gave a little whoop of delight at this point as my previous attempts at making pastry have been poor!cheese12 cheese13
  • Lay a piece of greaseproof paper over the pastry and add your baking beanscheese6
  • Bake for 15 minutes on a baking tray
  • After 15 minutes, take the tray out of the oven, remove the beans and lightly prick the base with a fork
  • Bake for another 10 minutes until the pastry has just started to turn goldencheese8
  • Now it’s time to fill the quiche! Begin by crumbling all your cheese into the basecheese9
  • Then layer on the bacon and onionscheese10
  • Finally, pour over the cream mixture and gently give it a shakecheese1
  • Turn the oven down slightly to 140°C, Gas Mark 3 and bake the quiche for 40-45 minutes until it is golden brown and the filling has setcheese2
  • I couldn’t resist having a slice of this warm with a fresh salad and some of my auntie’s homemade chilli jam on the side, but this is also delicious cold the next daycheese5

If you don’t have loads of leftover cheese, then I have noticed that the supermarkets are selling their truckles of Christmas cheeses for as little as 30p now so get down there asap!

Now that I have mastered the KitchenAid, I plan to spend my last day off baking something sweet and ignoring the fact I have to go back to school and be a proper adult again tomorrow!

Is anyone else feeling the back-to-work blues? Luckily, I have a few evenings out planned to get me through the first week back! x

About hannahhotcakes

My name is Hannah. I live near Bath in a lovely village in the Cotswolds with my husband Ian, the love of my life for the past 10 years, in our dream cottage. I have landed my dream job as a primary school teacher and I can’t think of anything else I would rather be doing. I am a self-confessed foodie and I love to cook, bake, and eat out as much as possible. Here are some things I love: My friends and family, travelling, fresh flowers, good books, having breakfast on my balcony, horror films, Christmas, tea, Las Vegas, lie-ins, red wine, Liverpool FC, music, sausage dogs, Spain, rare steak, fashion, cheese, American TV series and camping. And here are my pet hates: People dressed as animals, whistling, being rushed, being made to wait, girls who act stupid to impress a man, spiders, sunburn and rocket (it comes with EVERYTHING!)

One response »

  1. Pingback: 2014 | hannahhotcakes

Leave a Reply

