RSS Feed

New Year Nails

I have had a lovely day today catching up with old friends, although a large part of that was spent in various pubs and we were very naughty eating out for both lunch and dinner (remember…calories don’t count until January!)

opi6 opi8

As I write this, the boys have moved onto the whiskey and are currently assembling a bonfire in the back garden – sorry neighbours!

Whilst they are occupied, I thought I would steal 10 minutes for a quick manicure ready for New Year’s Eve festivities tomorrow night. I like to stay fairly low-key for this night but will be driving up to London to spend the day and evening with our besties. Whilst we aren’t hitting the town, I still wanted a bit of sparkle so I couldn’t wait to try out a new nail varnish I bought in the sales.

Now textured nail varnish can be rather love/ hate with some people but me? I love the stuff! Concrete, feather, velvet-effect…I am slowly working my way through them all!

One of the original formulas however was OPI’s Liquid Sand range. I found this gorgeous rose gold shade Make Him Mine reduced from £12 to £3.75 in Sallys which is great for such a well-known brand (I may have bought some other OPI goodies too!)

opi9

I used two coats of this formula and it applied like a dream.

opi1

I try not to play favourites with my nail varnishes but this is one of the nicest colours I own. I love the pinky shade and it has various sized pieces of glitter which catch the light for a bit of sparkle.

opi2

The colour is so well-pigmented that you could probably get away with one coat but I used two to build the colour up and it finished to a textured, matte glitter finish.

opi5

I am really keen to try out more from OPI’s Liquid Sand range, although I’m not sure I will find a colour I like more!

What are your plans for NYE? x

About hannahhotcakes

My name is Hannah. I live near Bath in a lovely village in the Cotswolds with my husband Ian, the love of my life for the past 10 years, in our dream cottage. I have landed my dream job as a primary school teacher and I can’t think of anything else I would rather be doing. I am a self-confessed foodie and I love to cook, bake, and eat out as much as possible. Here are some things I love: My friends and family, travelling, fresh flowers, good books, having breakfast on my balcony, horror films, Christmas, tea, Las Vegas, lie-ins, red wine, Liverpool FC, music, sausage dogs, Spain, rare steak, fashion, cheese, American TV series and camping. And here are my pet hates: People dressed as animals, whistling, being rushed, being made to wait, girls who act stupid to impress a man, spiders, sunburn and rocket (it comes with EVERYTHING!)

Leave a Reply

