RSS Feed

Beauty Review – My Boots Advent Calendar (Days 12 – 24)

Now that Christmas is starting to wind down, I thought I would share the rest of my advent calendar goodies and my overall views on this non-chocolate alternative.

Day 12 – Boots Nail Shine Solution

boots11 boots12

I get through clear top coats quite quickly given how often I paint my nails so always welcome a new one to try out. This one from Boots’ Salon range contains sea kelp which is meant to nourish the nails whilst finishing to a high-gloss shine.

Day 13 – Vichy Liftactiv Serum for Eyes and Lashes

boots13

A brand I love, this Vichy product is unique in that it claims to not only reduce lines and wrinkles around the eyes but also fortify and strengthen lashes. This is a lovely, hydrating serum which is great on the skin around the eyes but I am yet to see a noticeable difference in my eyelashes.

Day 14 – Couture La La Perfume Sample

boots14

A pleasant enough scent but as I mentioned in my last review I don’t think these sample are the most interesting inclusion in these calendars!

Day 15 – Seventeen Tattoo Me Semi-Permanent Liquid Eyeliner

boots15

Despite claiming to last for 48 hours (who wears makeup for that long?!), I am looking forward to trialling this. I love a sweep of black eyeliner with cute flicks and this product has received rave reviews from beauty bloggers for its longevity and true black colour.

Day 16 – Spotty Nail File

boots6

Always handy but I prefer using a glass nail file and I think this was a bit of a crap gift.

Day 17 – Soap and Glory Flake Away Body Scrub

boots7

I already own the full-sized version of this and I love it! It smells delicious and is a great exfoliator. I tend to keep a tub of it in the shower and use a handful before fake-tanning or when I feel I need a good scrub!

Day 18 – Ghost Perfume Sample

boots8

This is one of my Mum’s favourite scents so I will be passing this sample onto her to use up.

Day 19 – Carmex Lip Balm

boots9

A cult lip product and one that I have started using in the last year. I love the medicinal smell of Carmex and the slight tingle you get when you apply it. I stocked up on the cherry version of this whilst we were in San Francisco as I spotted it for 75cents a tube!

Day 20 – Mavala Pure Diamond Nail Varnish

boots1

I really like this nail brand and this clear polish is packed full of glitter pieces. At first I thought it was just silver but in the light it has a gorgeous holographic effect and I think it would look great as a topcoat.

Day 21 – Botanics Heat Protection Shine Serum

boots2

I don’t actually use any heat products on my hair but this stuff smells so lovely I will still use it up! It contains camomile which is great for blonde hair and after having my hair dyed again recently, I am keen to keep it in good condition.

Day 22 – Nails Inc Porchester Square

boots3

I do already have this shade but it is one of my absolute favourites. A beautiful grey-purple colour, I always receive compliments when I wear this and it is no surprise it is one of Nail Inc’s best-selling shades.

Day 23 – Umberto Giannini ‘Backcomb in a Bottle’

boots4

This is a good brand and sounds pretty cool but I just know this is something I will never use on my hair type.

Day 24 – Seventeen Blow Out Mascara

boots5

Another Seventeen product that has rather OTT claims, this time to volumise your lashes by up to 12 times their normal size! I can never have enough black mascaras and after a quick look online, this too has received rave reviews. I would never think to try this brand, although the packaging seems to appeal to a younger audience, but I am going to give the eyeliner and mascara a week-long trial and will report back!

Phew – that’s all 24 windows opened, plus a Boots voucher towards any of the products in the calendar! Overall, I have loved this calendar. It is great value for money when you consider it was around the £30 with £70 worth of product included. I have definitely discovered some new brands (Seventeen and Balmi) and received some items from brands I already love (Mavala and Vichy) and I have particularly loved the nail items.

I do feel there was a bit of filler, namely the perfume samples and hair products, but I think that just comes down to personal preferences as I know some people love trying out new perfume samples in beauty boxes.

I will definitely be keeping an eye out for another advent calendar like this next year. I would love the Ciate one filled with nail varnishes but I’m sure there will be a whole new range available next year as more brands jump on this bandwagon.

What do you think of beauty advent calendars? x

About hannahhotcakes

My name is Hannah. I live near Bath in a lovely village in the Cotswolds with my husband Ian, the love of my life for the past 10 years, in our dream cottage. I have landed my dream job as a primary school teacher and I can’t think of anything else I would rather be doing. I am a self-confessed foodie and I love to cook, bake, and eat out as much as possible. Here are some things I love: My friends and family, travelling, fresh flowers, good books, having breakfast on my balcony, horror films, Christmas, tea, Las Vegas, lie-ins, red wine, Liverpool FC, music, sausage dogs, Spain, rare steak, fashion, cheese, American TV series and camping. And here are my pet hates: People dressed as animals, whistling, being rushed, being made to wait, girls who act stupid to impress a man, spiders, sunburn and rocket (it comes with EVERYTHING!)

2 responses »

  1. Next year I am getting a beauty calendar for sure!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

