RSS Feed

Christmas 2013

I hope you all had a wonderful Christmas and managed to spend it with your nearest and dearest.

xmas20

It was our second year of hosting Christmas at our house, this time for my parents and brother, and I think we are getting pretty good at it now! I find that as long as the fridge and drinks cabinet is fully stocked and you do a bit of delegating that it isn’t really too stressful.

Our Christmas dinner was truly a joint effort with each of us contributing something. My Mum did her infamous cauliflower cheese, I was in charge of the goose fat roast potatoes, Ian handled all the meat (herby chicken and a honey and mustard ham), my brother did the pigs in blankets and the manly job of piping pink vanilla cream into the profiteroles for pudding, and my Dad brought it all together with a lovely gravy…teamwork!

xmas10xmas13xmas15 xmas19

We had a lovely Christmas Eve with carols at the local village church then a few drinks at the pub in front of a roaring fire.

xmas2

I didn’t actually take too many photos on Christmas Day but we had our stockings then a lovely brunch of smoked salmon and scrambled eggs before opening the rest of our presents under the tree.

xmas3 xmas5xmas17

I received some amazing gifts this year, lots of beauty and foodie items, but my real treat was a KitchenAid from Ian. I cannot describe how much I have wanted one and for how long and I’m now looking forward to christening it with something delicious!

xmas12

On Boxing Day we drove up to stay with Ian’s parents for a few days and have our second Christmas, eat more, drink more and cuddle George, their beautiful Jack Russell.

xmas22 xmas25 xmas31 xmas32

Ian and I arrived home a couple of hours ago and, despite being called a Scrooge (thanks Ian!), I blitzed the house and packed up all of our Christmas decorations for another year. As always, the house feels very plain now but I am equally as excited about having a clean and uncluttered house again!

Like most people, we still have a small delicatessen in our fridge so I think Ian and I will be enjoying a few more cheeseboards over the next few days. I bought some running gear in the sales and am determined to shift these festive pounds in the New Year but calories don’t count until January in my opinion!

xmas8xmas34 xmas14

 

How was your Christmas? x

About hannahhotcakes

My name is Hannah. I live near Bath in a lovely village in the Cotswolds with my husband Ian, the love of my life for the past 10 years, in our dream cottage. I have landed my dream job as a primary school teacher and I can’t think of anything else I would rather be doing. I am a self-confessed foodie and I love to cook, bake, and eat out as much as possible. Here are some things I love: My friends and family, travelling, fresh flowers, good books, having breakfast on my balcony, horror films, Christmas, tea, Las Vegas, lie-ins, red wine, Liverpool FC, music, sausage dogs, Spain, rare steak, fashion, cheese, American TV series and camping. And here are my pet hates: People dressed as animals, whistling, being rushed, being made to wait, girls who act stupid to impress a man, spiders, sunburn and rocket (it comes with EVERYTHING!)

Leave a Reply

