RSS Feed

Christmas Nails

Well, it’s Christmas Eve – the most exciting day of the year. My family arrived yesterday and the daily cheese boards have started! The fridge is groaning with delicious food and we are starting to prep the vegetables ready for lunch tomorrow.

Like most people in the South West, we had a horrendous evening of rain and wind and saw the full effects of it today when I popped to the shops with my Mum. We had our own mini-crisis when our car park flooded whilst we were shopping meaning I had to run through ankle-deep freezing cold river water to reach our car then drive home with cold, wet feet!

nails17 nails19 nails20

Today, I wanted to share two last-minute ideas for a Christmas manicure. Mum and I left the boys watching the football last night and had a mini-pamper session to do our nails.

nails3nails13

First up, a fun twist on some santa hats.

I used: a pale blue shade by Cover Girl, Fishnet Stockings by Essie, a white nail art pen (bought in Primark), a nail art brush (ebay) and Seche Vite.

nails24

I started with a crisp, pastel blue nail varnish, which I think makes a nice change from all the deep berry tones at this time of year.

nails22

I then painted on a red triangle

nails23

And finished off with a white circle on top of the hat and a white line along the cuticle.

nails25

A final top coat of Seche Vite sealed the look!

nails12

Next up are the nails I did on myself and my Mum last night to see me through the next few days. You can’t really go wrong with red and glitter at this time of year!

I began with two coats of Essie’s Fishnet Stockings which is fast becoming one of my favourite shades.

nails8nails15 nails9

I then used my nail tip stickers as a guide to paint on a layer of Essie’s Beyond Cosy, a lovely gold/ silver glitter.

nails2

As always, my trusty Seche Vite finished the look and us Duffy ladies are ready for Christmas!

nails5

Right, the kitchen is calling my name so I am going to spend the next few hours cooking with my Dad, popping along to the village Christmas Carol service then a few drinks at our local before coming home and having an early night!

Have a wonderful Christmas and cherish these few days with your loved ones xxx

About hannahhotcakes

My name is Hannah. I live near Bath in a lovely village in the Cotswolds with my husband Ian, the love of my life for the past 10 years, in our dream cottage. I have landed my dream job as a primary school teacher and I can’t think of anything else I would rather be doing. I am a self-confessed foodie and I love to cook, bake, and eat out as much as possible. Here are some things I love: My friends and family, travelling, fresh flowers, good books, having breakfast on my balcony, horror films, Christmas, tea, Las Vegas, lie-ins, red wine, Liverpool FC, music, sausage dogs, Spain, rare steak, fashion, cheese, American TV series and camping. And here are my pet hates: People dressed as animals, whistling, being rushed, being made to wait, girls who act stupid to impress a man, spiders, sunburn and rocket (it comes with EVERYTHING!)

Leave a Reply

