RSS Feed

Still Here!

Just a quick post today to let you know that I am still here, albeit about 5lbs lighter after having had a horrible vomiting bug three times in ten days!

Along with some other pretty rubbish happenings, this fortnight has been a bit of a write-off.  Whereas I would usually be posting daily on various Christmas items and recipes, I have spent most of my time on the sofa watching reruns of ER and not feeling the least bit festive, which is so unlike me in December!

here8 here9 here13

I’m finally feeling better and a bit more like myself today but have resigned myself to a lovely and relaxing low-key Christmas as opposed to my usual all-singing and all-dancing affair. My parents and brother are coming up to join us tomorrow so Ian and I are spending today getting the house ready and wrapping the last of  the presents to put under the tree.

here5

I bought a huge roll of brown parcel paper to use as my wrapping paper this year then added my own twist by using red and white striped butcher’s twine (which reminds me of candy canes!) to make them a bit prettier then used my letter-stamping kit to make my own labels from plain brown paper. This is about as creative as I have managed this year but the various packages do look lovely sat under the tree, waiting to be opened.

here4here14

I have also spent this afternoon putting the finishing touches to my Christmas menu and shopping list and am planning to brave the supermarket for the last few items tomorrow. I actually tried to get organised a few weeks ago and bought some lovely nibbles and cheese all ready for Christmas but it was just too much temptation for me and Ian and I’m ashamed to say we have not been able to trust ourselves with too many ‘treats’ in the cupboard since! Pleased tell me we aren’t the only ones who cannot resist?!

here10

How are your Christmas preparations going? x

here20

About hannahhotcakes

My name is Hannah. I live near Bath in a lovely village in the Cotswolds with my husband Ian, the love of my life for the past 10 years, in our dream cottage. I have landed my dream job as a primary school teacher and I can’t think of anything else I would rather be doing. I am a self-confessed foodie and I love to cook, bake, and eat out as much as possible. Here are some things I love: My friends and family, travelling, fresh flowers, good books, having breakfast on my balcony, horror films, Christmas, tea, Las Vegas, lie-ins, red wine, Liverpool FC, music, sausage dogs, Spain, rare steak, fashion, cheese, American TV series and camping. And here are my pet hates: People dressed as animals, whistling, being rushed, being made to wait, girls who act stupid to impress a man, spiders, sunburn and rocket (it comes with EVERYTHING!)

Leave a Reply

