RSS Feed

Recipe – Cinammon Tortilla Chips

Brrrrr…it’s a cold one today! I was greeted with the most beautiful sunrise this morning (along with the rest of the UK if my Instagram feed is anything to go by!) but it got progressively colder and windier and it was almost dark by the end of school at 3:05!

photoCAOD1UDH

At least one of the lovely things about winter is that feeling of being cold and coming into a nice warm house and being able to wrap your hands around a hot cup of tea or hot chocolate and today’s recipe is a perfect accompaniment to that.

dec8

I wasn’t too sure what to call these as I kind of made the recipe up in a bid to use up some leftover flour tortillas I had from a recent quesadilla obsession (does anyone else go through these foodie phases?!). I feel like I say this about nearly all of my recipes but these are so quick and easy to make and as someone who always ends up with a few spare tortillas after having fajitas, I love that I have a use for them now instead of throwing them in the bin.

Ingredients

dec3

2 flour tortillas

A small bowl of melted butter

A small bowl of caster sugar

A few teaspoons of cinnamon

How to make it

  • Begin by preheating your oven to 180°C, Gas Mark 4
  • Mix your cinnamon in with the sugardec2
  • Cut your tortillas into chunky strips and lay on a baking traydec1
  • Using a pastry brush, cover one side of the tortillas in butter then liberally sprinkle over the cinnamon sugardec4
  • Turn the strips over and do the same on the other sidedec6
  • Bake for around 15 minutes but keep checking them after about 10 minutes as you they burn quite easily.
  • Allow to cool then tuck in!dec9

You can use these instead of brandy snaps and serve with a scoop of your favourite ice cream but I recommend snacking on a bowl of them with a cuppa and an episode of Gossip Girl!dec10

About hannahhotcakes

My name is Hannah. I live near Bath in a lovely village in the Cotswolds with my husband Ian, the love of my life for the past 10 years, in our dream cottage. I have landed my dream job as a primary school teacher and I can’t think of anything else I would rather be doing. I am a self-confessed foodie and I love to cook, bake, and eat out as much as possible. Here are some things I love: My friends and family, travelling, fresh flowers, good books, having breakfast on my balcony, horror films, Christmas, tea, Las Vegas, lie-ins, red wine, Liverpool FC, music, sausage dogs, Spain, rare steak, fashion, cheese, American TV series and camping. And here are my pet hates: People dressed as animals, whistling, being rushed, being made to wait, girls who act stupid to impress a man, spiders, sunburn and rocket (it comes with EVERYTHING!)

Leave a Reply

