RSS Feed

Restaurant Review – Meat Mission

I had such good intentions to blog daily in December with lots of festive posts but as is the way with this time of year, life has gotten in the way of things and it just feels like there aren’t enough hours in the day at the moment…I’m sure we are all feeling like this currently though!

Today, I wanted to share my review on a restaurant I went to with Ian and my friends this weekend in London: Meat Mission in Hoxton. I was so excited to go here as I had heard excellent things about it and was looking forward to a dirty, meat-filled dining experience!

advent42

The restaurant gets its name from the building it is in, a former church, and the religious theme is continued with the menu offering ‘Baptism’, ‘Communion’, ‘Confirmation’ and ‘Last Rites’.

advent44 advent45

It is very dark and grungy inside, with colourful paintings of saints on the walls and ceilings but has a very laid back feel with rows of wooden benches.

advent26

We squeezed into a booth in one corner of the restaurant and had the difficult task of narrowing down what we fancied from the menu. We started with drinks and Ian was clearly overjoyed to see the portion size of the beers available!

advent27 advent28 advent36

Between us, we ordered a good selection of burgers, hot dogs, sides and fries. It arrived on a huge tray and then it was time to tuck in. This was a lovely way to dine with friends although if I’m being completely honest I would have preferred a plate as the food was quite messy to eat!

advent37

I ordered a bacon cheeseburger and it was one of the best I’ve ever had. The toasted brioche buns were perfect and the burger inside was perfectly cooked (rare) with smoked bacon and cheddar adding their own delicious flavours. These burgers are definitely for the meat-lovers…the kind where one bite leaves you with the juices running down your arm!

advent39advent40

We also shared some ‘Monkey Fingers’ (spicy fried chicken with a blue cheese dip – amazing) and fries with three different toppings; grilled onions and ‘hippie sauce’, caramelised onions and bone marrow gravy and chili, cheese and jalapenos.

advent38

I know London seems to be awash with trendy burger joints, but this place really was great and walking distance from Spitalfields if you wanted to make a day of it.

About hannahhotcakes

My name is Hannah. I live near Bath in a lovely village in the Cotswolds with my husband Ian, the love of my life for the past 10 years, in our dream cottage. I have landed my dream job as a primary school teacher and I can’t think of anything else I would rather be doing. I am a self-confessed foodie and I love to cook, bake, and eat out as much as possible. Here are some things I love: My friends and family, travelling, fresh flowers, good books, having breakfast on my balcony, horror films, Christmas, tea, Las Vegas, lie-ins, red wine, Liverpool FC, music, sausage dogs, Spain, rare steak, fashion, cheese, American TV series and camping. And here are my pet hates: People dressed as animals, whistling, being rushed, being made to wait, girls who act stupid to impress a man, spiders, sunburn and rocket (it comes with EVERYTHING!)

Leave a Reply

