RSS Feed

Hello December!

So the best month of the year is finally here! I feel like I have been so busy recently that it has kind of crept up on me but the Christmas decorations are down from the loft so I feel that things are going to get very festive around here soon…

Ian and I have had a pretty awesome weekend with friends. We jumped on the train to London on Friday evening after work, enjoyed a sneaky cocktail, a quick manicure and Ian caught 20 winks!

advent18advent48 advent19

We made our way to see my friend Cat where she greeted us with the most delicious ham, leek and potato pie, a bottle of red and white and a lemon tarte…perfect hostess!

advent21advent41

The next morning, we wrapped up warm and headed to Spitalfields Market, where we met more friends and indulged in cupcakes from Lola’s (my peanut butter one was lovely!), some ales and shopping.

advent23 advent24 advent25

Afterwards, we had a late lunch at Meat Mission (review coming soon) which was incredible. I think if I lived in London and had access to such amazing burger places I would be the size of a house!

advent39

We spent the rest of the afternoon in a local pub catching up and reminiscing about our days at university before ordering some puddings to finish our night.

advent6advent8advent51

We got home this afternoon, both pretty shattered, but our living room has been dusted, polished, hoovered and mopped ready to put the tree up whilst watching Elf and drinking mulled wine…if that doesn’t get me in the mood for Christmas then nothing will!

Finally, I wanted to share this year’s advent calendar…

Beauty advent calendars made an appearance last year and seem to have grown in popularity this year. I mentioned to my lovely husband that I fancied one and was over the moon when he came back with this one from Boots a few days later!

advent1

This was around £30 but has over £65 worth of products hidden inside by a variety of brands. I have done my best not to read the back of the box or look at any spoilers online so I get a true surprise every morning.

I will post a picture on Instagram of my advent goodies each day and will probably do a little round of products every few days.

advent2 advent3

I opened Day 1 earlier and was gifted with a Soap and Glory moisturising body wash. I love this brand so I hope the rest of the box is as good!

advent4

 

About hannahhotcakes

My name is Hannah. I live near Bath in a lovely village in the Cotswolds with my husband Ian, the love of my life for the past 10 years, in our dream cottage. I have landed my dream job as a primary school teacher and I can’t think of anything else I would rather be doing. I am a self-confessed foodie and I love to cook, bake, and eat out as much as possible. Here are some things I love: My friends and family, travelling, fresh flowers, good books, having breakfast on my balcony, horror films, Christmas, tea, Las Vegas, lie-ins, red wine, Liverpool FC, music, sausage dogs, Spain, rare steak, fashion, cheese, American TV series and camping. And here are my pet hates: People dressed as animals, whistling, being rushed, being made to wait, girls who act stupid to impress a man, spiders, sunburn and rocket (it comes with EVERYTHING!)

Leave a Reply

