RSS Feed

This Week’s Nails – Neon Leopard Tips

It’s funny how some weeks seem to fly by whereas other drag on and the weekend seems like it will never arrive. This week feels like a long one to me. I have lots going on at work and I also know it is December next week so I think I am impatiently waiting for the new month and the perfect excuse to start getting festive.

Ian and I are in London this weekend but as soon as we get home on Sunday, our tree is going up, my Christmas decorating projects begin and I can start on my Christmas baking! I just wanted to give you a heads up in case you aren’t ready for the onslaught of festive cheer that I will hopefully share on here!

Today I wanted to share a recent look I tried on my nails, courtesy of these rather funky nail tips from Avon. I received these as a gift but was impressed at the quality and ease of application.

tip1

I started off with a base coat of another new nail varnish, Bloomsbury Way by Nails Inc. This is a creamy, pale nude pink and was opaque after 2 coats. This is another of my favourite nail brands and I find Nails Inc shades last a good week with a top coat.

tip9

After this simple base coat, I applied the leopard print tips which were very easy to place and apply. They were a little flimsy and delicate but as long as you are gentle with them then they are fine. Any overlap could be easily filed away too meaning I could get a nice, clean finish.

tip2

To preserve this look, I tried out a new top coat, also by Nails Inc – Kensington Caviar Gel Effect Plumping Top Coat. I can understand the word ‘plumping’ being used in a lip product but I can’t really see how nails could, or would need to be, ‘plumped up’ but there you go!

tip7

This was quite a thick top coat but I was impressed at the lovely shiny finish and the manicure lasted for about 6 days with no chipping. I would definitely use this top coat again, especially over nail stickers as it seemed to level out the nail as well as live up to its claims for gel-effect nails.

tip3

I liked this look – not my usual style but sometimes it’s good to come out of your comfort zone a bit and try something fun!

About hannahhotcakes

My name is Hannah. I live near Bath in a lovely village in the Cotswolds with my husband Ian, the love of my life for the past 10 years, in our dream cottage. I have landed my dream job as a primary school teacher and I can’t think of anything else I would rather be doing. I am a self-confessed foodie and I love to cook, bake, and eat out as much as possible. Here are some things I love: My friends and family, travelling, fresh flowers, good books, having breakfast on my balcony, horror films, Christmas, tea, Las Vegas, lie-ins, red wine, Liverpool FC, music, sausage dogs, Spain, rare steak, fashion, cheese, American TV series and camping. And here are my pet hates: People dressed as animals, whistling, being rushed, being made to wait, girls who act stupid to impress a man, spiders, sunburn and rocket (it comes with EVERYTHING!)

Leave a Reply

