RSS Feed

Recipe – Roasted Tomato and Basil Soup

We have had a lovely chilled-out Sunday with a long lie-in and a walk in the country. We saw these gorgeous cows snuggling (I didn’t know they did that!)

tsoup14

Some inquisitive sheep

tsoup15

And beautiful autumn colours

tsoup16

We also stopped off at The Cross Guns, a lovely pub perched on the river, and I had my first Winter Pimm’s of the season with my lunch…delicious.

tsoup17 tsoup19 tsoup21

Today’s recipe is a pretty near-perfect tomato soup, even if I do say so myself! I thought it would be a bit of a faff to roast the tomatoes first but by doing so it adds a bit more flavour and I enjoyed this for lunch for the next few days. I also think it would make a pretty good pasta sauce but unfortunately I had already eaten it all before I had a chance to test this theory out! Oh well, I shall make it again and then report back!

tsoup4

Ingredients

12 large tomatoes (I used two trays)

Olive oil

Salt and pepper

A pinch of sugar

A pinch of dried basil

One onion, chopped

2 carrots, peeled and chopped

2 garlic cloves, finely chopped

A small bunch of fresh basil, chop the stalks and leaves separately

About half a litre of chicken or vegetable stock (I prefer chicken)

2-3 tablespoons of crème fraîche

How to make it

  • Begin by slicing the tomatoes in half and lying face up on an oven tray
  • Drizzle with olive oil, salt and pepper, sugar and a pinch of dried basiltsoup11
  • Roast in the oven at 180°C, Gas Mark 4 for about an hour until the tomatoes start to colour and chartsoup13
  • In a large pan, drizzle some olive oil and add the onion, carrot, garlic and basil stalks and cook on a low heat until they have started to softentsoup12
  • Add the roasted tomatoes and any juices from the baking tray then top with the stocktsoup6
  • Give everything a good stir, bring to the boil then simmer for 20-30 minutes until the vegetables have softened
  • Add your basil leaves and allow to wilttsoup9
  • Stir through the crème fraîchetsoup10
  • Use a stick blender to whizz up the soup to your preferred consistencytsoup1
  •  Season to taste (I often add a dash of balsamic vinegar right at the end to give some additional depth of flavour)
  • Serve with crusty bread and a final dollop of crème fraîche tsoup2
About hannahhotcakes

My name is Hannah. I live near Bath in a lovely village in the Cotswolds with my husband Ian, the love of my life for the past 10 years, in our dream cottage. I have landed my dream job as a primary school teacher and I can’t think of anything else I would rather be doing. I am a self-confessed foodie and I love to cook, bake, and eat out as much as possible. Here are some things I love: My friends and family, travelling, fresh flowers, good books, having breakfast on my balcony, horror films, Christmas, tea, Las Vegas, lie-ins, red wine, Liverpool FC, music, sausage dogs, Spain, rare steak, fashion, cheese, American TV series and camping. And here are my pet hates: People dressed as animals, whistling, being rushed, being made to wait, girls who act stupid to impress a man, spiders, sunburn and rocket (it comes with EVERYTHING!)

Leave a Reply

