RSS Feed

This Week’s Nails – Red Velvet

I am finding this week a real struggle. I am shattered yet my to-do list seems to be growing by the minute! I know that I will get things done, and even if I don’t then it isn’t the end of the world, but I can’t help feeling like I am just keeping my head above water with work, home, friends and family. I’m sure we all feel like this sometimes but maybe the thought of Christmas being just around the corner adds to it all.

When things get too much, I have a few habits that I fall back into and things I like to do.  A long bubble bath with a book is always good, baking or trying out a new recipe for dinner brings me immense pleasure and little treats like a face mask or manicure can help restore some balance.

This week’s nails are my crushed red velvet nails which were a bit of a last minute purchase from Poundland, yet one that pleasantly surprised me.

velvet5

I had read about velvet nails and thought how perfect they sounded for autumn and winter but wasn’t quite sure how they would look or last so was loathe to spend £10+ on a product just to give it a go. But when I saw this little kit for the sum of £1 I figured that there would be no harm in trying it.

The kit came with a bright red nail varnish, a little tube of velvet flakes and a handy brush.

velvet10

To achieve this look, I recommend doing one nail at a time over a small bowl or saucer. Simply paint on the coloured nail varnish, sprinkle over the velvet and use the little brush to sweep away the excess.

velvet6

For a subtle look, you could just do one or two feature nails…

velvet9

…or go all out and do them all!

velvet11

This was really easy to do, even the dreaded right hand which I never usually photograph when trying out some new nail art!

velvet2

I gave my Mum a ‘red velvet manicure’ too and we both received lots of compliments the following day. The velvet texture is lovely and soft and I think it works really well in the bright red shade.

velvet15

On a practical note, whilst this manicure is waterproof, after about 3 days it had started to go a little patchy and I removed it on day 4.

Usually this wouldn’t be long enough to warrant me using this product again but I was so impressed by the effect it gave that I think it would be worth doing for a special occasion and the red looks very Christmassy too!

velvet12

I noticed Poundland also had these kits in white, bright pink and purple but I think red is the real winner.

About hannahhotcakes

My name is Hannah. I live near Bath in a lovely village in the Cotswolds with my husband Ian, the love of my life for the past 10 years, in our dream cottage. I have landed my dream job as a primary school teacher and I can’t think of anything else I would rather be doing. I am a self-confessed foodie and I love to cook, bake, and eat out as much as possible. Here are some things I love: My friends and family, travelling, fresh flowers, good books, having breakfast on my balcony, horror films, Christmas, tea, Las Vegas, lie-ins, red wine, Liverpool FC, music, sausage dogs, Spain, rare steak, fashion, cheese, American TV series and camping. And here are my pet hates: People dressed as animals, whistling, being rushed, being made to wait, girls who act stupid to impress a man, spiders, sunburn and rocket (it comes with EVERYTHING!)

2 responses »

  1. I like it red! I think this is the first time I’ve seen it in red actually. Ages ago I tried it in purple and got pretty exited about it lol. But in Red it looks like a ‘real’ manicure rather than a novelty look

    Reply

Leave a Reply

