RSS Feed

Restaurant Review – Bath Brew House

Last week, Ian and I went on a date to the new Bath Brew House. It has been open for a few months now but as soon as Ian heard there was an onsite brewery, he was very eager to go and try it out! brew4 This place used to be ‘The Metropolitan’, a fairly nondescript pub on the outskirts of town, but it has had a rather trendy new facelift and it was packed when we went on Thursday. As well as having its own brewery, this place also boasts a smoker and rotisserie which appealed to me. brew11 We started off with a few pints of ‘Emperor’, a light, hoppy pale ale with fruity notes – very crisp and refreshing.

We were seated at the far end of the dining area which I think was a bit of an error as we were there for over 20 minutes with the menu before I finally had to go and ask a waitress to come and take our order. Although we were less than impressed by the service at first, the waitresses really tried to make up for it afterwards and were really attentive and friendly once they knew we were there!

I really like the contemporary interior which has gorgeous wooden floors with a mixture of industrial and traditional touches dotted throughout. brew13 I think the menu is different compared to other places in Bath and with a huge selection of restaurants on offer, I like that this pub has carved itself a bit of a niche locally. The menu isn’t huge but is quite American in its content.

Ian and I started off with some starters to share; the ‘Scotch Bacon and Egg’ and the ‘Bingo Wings’. The Scotch egg used minced bacon to surround the egg and this gave a lovely, flavour although I don’t think the texture was quite as good as sausagemeat. brew15 The chicken wings were deep fried and had a lovely spicy kick. These were just like some we had in Vegas and very tasty. brew14 For our mains, we went all out and if I’m honest it was a bit of a meat feast! I had the ribs which were amazing, full of smoky flavour and there was so much tender meat. It came in a sweet and sticky BBQ sauce, which complemented the smokiness of the meat perfectly, and a generous helping of fries and coleslaw. Ribs are probably my favourite dish to order and these were pretty damn good. brew7 Ian had a whole (!) spicy chicken from their rotisserie, although had to admit defeat and take some home in a doggie bag! This was perfectly cooked and they left the skin on for a naughty but nice treat. His meal came served with a mug of chips and some salad and was also very tasty. brew8 The pudding menu looked tempting but after such huge main courses, we couldn’t manage a dessert but I did find room for a white hot chocolate which was served with the classic biscuit accompaniment…a party ring! I really enjoyed this hot chocolate – it was creamy and indulgent and only slightly sickly. brew10 I also couldn’t resist doing this with the foam: brew1 The final touch (which I also loved) was how they gave us our bill. It came in an old book with a little bag of old-school pick ‘n’ mix sweets! brew3 brew2 Despite the slightly poor service at the start of the night, Ian and I both loved this place. The menu was spot on for good pub food and the addition of lovely surroundings and great beer only adds to the experience.

We will definitely be popping back here very soon and I recommend this place if you are looking for somewhere new to eat in Bath.

About hannahhotcakes

My name is Hannah. I live near Bath in a lovely village in the Cotswolds with my husband Ian, the love of my life for the past 10 years, in our dream cottage. I have landed my dream job as a primary school teacher and I can’t think of anything else I would rather be doing. I am a self-confessed foodie and I love to cook, bake, and eat out as much as possible. Here are some things I love: My friends and family, travelling, fresh flowers, good books, having breakfast on my balcony, horror films, Christmas, tea, Las Vegas, lie-ins, red wine, Liverpool FC, music, sausage dogs, Spain, rare steak, fashion, cheese, American TV series and camping. And here are my pet hates: People dressed as animals, whistling, being rushed, being made to wait, girls who act stupid to impress a man, spiders, sunburn and rocket (it comes with EVERYTHING!)

One response »

  1. Pingback: Restaurant Review – The GPT Smokehouse, Bath | hannahhotcakes

Leave a Reply

