RSS Feed

Recipe – Coconut and Cinnamon French Toast with Caramelised Bananas

It is a beautiful November day today, perfect for getting outside to crunch through the fallen leaves. Ian is at work so I am planning an afternoon in the kitchen making a soup, a pie and a cake – roll on dinner time when we get to scoff it all! Right, onto today’s post…

French Toast, Gypsy Bread, Eggy Bread…whatever you call it, it is a delicious option for breakfast or brunch and I love the fact that you can serve it as a sweet or savoury item.

This recipe caters to those with a sweet tooth and I have to say it is a great way to start the day!

Ingredients (for two people)ft15

2 eggs

A teaspoon of cinnamon

6 tablespoons of desiccated coconut

2 slices of bread, cut in half

Some butter

1 banana, sliced

A tablespoon of brown sugar

Maple syrup to serve

How to make it

  • In a bowl, whisk together the eggs and cinnamonft11
  • In a separate bowl or small plate, pour the coconut flakes and some additional cinnamon – this is your French toast assembly line!ft13
  • Heat your frying pan to a medium heat and add a teaspoon of butter
  • Dip your bread firstly in the egg and then into the coconutft7 ft8
  • Place in the frying pan and gently fry on both sides until golden brownft1
  • Whilst your French toast is cooking, heat some more butter in a small frying pan and add the sliced bananasft9
  • Sprinkle over the brown sugar and cook on a medium heat until the fruit has started to caramelise
  • Serve the French toast topped with the bananas and drizzle over some maple syrup. I also recommend a cup of fresh coffee with this then you are ready to face the day!ft4
About hannahhotcakes

My name is Hannah. I live near Bath in a lovely village in the Cotswolds with my husband Ian, the love of my life for the past 10 years, in our dream cottage. I have landed my dream job as a primary school teacher and I can’t think of anything else I would rather be doing. I am a self-confessed foodie and I love to cook, bake, and eat out as much as possible. Here are some things I love: My friends and family, travelling, fresh flowers, good books, having breakfast on my balcony, horror films, Christmas, tea, Las Vegas, lie-ins, red wine, Liverpool FC, music, sausage dogs, Spain, rare steak, fashion, cheese, American TV series and camping. And here are my pet hates: People dressed as animals, whistling, being rushed, being made to wait, girls who act stupid to impress a man, spiders, sunburn and rocket (it comes with EVERYTHING!)

4 responses »

  1. Oh wow, this looks AMAZING!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

