RSS Feed

Restaurant Review – Bavarian Beerhouse, Bristol

This weekend, Ian and I headed to Bristol for dinner and beers with our besties at the Bavarian Beerhouse. I read about this place a few weeks ago in a local foodie magazine and had fancied trying it out ever since. After all, what’s not to love about beer, sausages and sing-alongs?!

We started out with a few drinks in Brewdog, a brewery which was celebrating its first birthday and had a great little jazz band playing too.

beer17

We arrived at the Beerhouse at around 7 and although it wasn’t dead, there wasn’t much of that cheery Bavarian atmosphere we were hoping for. Luckily, it got gradually busier after we sat down at our long bench and the place was soon full and bustling.

beer19

We started with a round of good German beer and the boys couldn’t resist the giant 2-pint steins…although they did get jealous when a guy at the next table was drinking out of a 6-pint glass!

beer4beer11

I have to admit that my knowledge of German and Bavarian cuisine is rather limited but the menu had a good variety of hearty food on offer – think sausages, schnitzels, and sauerkraut.beer13

I wasn’t overly hungry so opted for a smaller plate of sausages, sauerkraut and pretzel which were all really good. I had been craving a good pretzel since the GBBO final this week and I love sauerkraut too!

beer15

Ian had a spicy sausage platter which he said was lovely.

beer6

My girlfriends had meatloaf with potato and a fried egg and our friend Ben had a classic pork schnitzel which was huge.

beer7 beer8

We also found the room to share a few portions of apfelstrudel afterwards too!

beer9

As it got busier and later, the music started and it was one of those ‘so bad it’s good’ moments…cheesy 90s Europop with the whole room singing along to the choruses and banging their firsts and beer glasses on the tables.

beer1

We had a great night at this place and I recommend it for a night out with a group of friends. It would be a great idea for a Christmas party or a stag night too. It doesn’t lend itself to a romantic night out or a quiet drink with friends but then again it’s not claiming to be a highbrow, fine dining experience. It is exactly what it says on the tin…a great place to eat, drink and be merry!

We are all wrapped up now to weather the ‘Great Storm’! I’m never sure how much is just media hype but I’m hoping the damage isn’t too severe in the morning. Ian and I are leaving tomorrow for a night away in a posh hotel with a 7-course dinner to look forward to so we are having healthy spiced pumpkin soup for dinner tonight to be good before the indulgence begins!

About hannahhotcakes

My name is Hannah. I live near Bath in a lovely village in the Cotswolds with my husband Ian, the love of my life for the past 10 years, in our dream cottage. I have landed my dream job as a primary school teacher and I can’t think of anything else I would rather be doing. I am a self-confessed foodie and I love to cook, bake, and eat out as much as possible. Here are some things I love: My friends and family, travelling, fresh flowers, good books, having breakfast on my balcony, horror films, Christmas, tea, Las Vegas, lie-ins, red wine, Liverpool FC, music, sausage dogs, Spain, rare steak, fashion, cheese, American TV series and camping. And here are my pet hates: People dressed as animals, whistling, being rushed, being made to wait, girls who act stupid to impress a man, spiders, sunburn and rocket (it comes with EVERYTHING!)

Leave a Reply

