RSS Feed

Beauty Review – October Birchbox

The end is in sight for the end of term! It was my last day with my class today and I just have one training day to get through tomorrow then have 11 days off, a hotel break and lots of time with my family and friends to look forward to. Unfortunately the weather is meant to be pretty miserable so no lovely autumnal walks but I can predict all that walking will be replaced with cooking and baking instead…fun but not so good for the waistline!

This month’s Birchbox seems to be another corker. There seems to be more and more monthly beauty boxes on the market now but for me Birchbox seems to be the best out there in terms of brands and value for money, allowing me to justify this monthly treat.

bb7

Here was my first peek at this month’s box which has a ‘Beauty Buzz’ theme, celebrating all those products that everyone seems to be talking about. The Birchbox magazine also seems to have been replaced by a series of postcards, each with a different article, beauty tutorial or product on the back of it.

bb14

Right, onto the goodies…

bb11

First up is KMS California’s Curl Up Wave Foam Mousse. Being a curly-haired girl, I am always on the lookout for products that tame the frizz without leaving my hair feeling sticky or crunchy. KMS is an amazing hair brand but I have horrible memories of using mousse when I was a teenager which left me with rather fetching wet-look hair! I am hoping this gel-to-mousse product will change my mind about mousse again. I have used this once and am so far impressed and it smells amazing so I will persevere!

bb8

Next is Dr Brandt’s Microdermabrasion Skin Exfoliant. This sounds harsher on your skin than it actually is. This is a face scrub to be used a couple of times a week and I really like the fresh, invigorating lemon scent it has.

bb9

My least favourite product in this month’s box is these Birchbox eyelash curlers. Priced at £10, they are perfectly functional and do what they are meant to do but I’m sure everyone already owns a pair of these so I think it was a bit of a lazy addition.

bb3

A product I have never heard of but am intrigued to try is this Egyptian Magic. I received three sachets of this cult multi-purpose cream, made with all natural ingredients but some rather interesting packaging! This balm is meant to be rubbed in your hands until it turns to a light oil then can be used on the skin or hair to moisturise.

bb10

Next is Dr Lipp’s Nipple Balm which believe it or not began life as a nipple cream before someone realised it also worked wonders on your lips. This is like a thick Vaseline and is great for this time of year as the weather gets colder – a perfect size to pop in my handbag.

bb1

The make-up item this month was Stainiac by theBalm cosmetics. I love their blushers but had never tried their lip and cheek stains. Obviously, a product like this will always be compared to Benefit’s Benetint but I do like this. It doesn’t have amazing staying power on the lips but as a cheek stain this is a good product.

bb5

Finally, I have saved the best until last with Laura Mercier’s Foundation Primer Radiance. If I had a pound for every time a beauty blogger raved about this brand, I would be a very rich girl! Sometimes you wonder what all the fuss is about but I am truly in love with this product. The primer is slightly tinted but applies like a dream and gives you a beautiful dewy base. If you have clear skin then you could get away with wearing this on its own as it blurs any imperfections and leaves your skin looking great but without being too shimmery. Although a little on the pricey side, I will buy this product again when this tube runs out as it is really is fab!

bb2

So there you have it for another month – a good range of products this time with some brands I love. I hear there will be another Laura Mercier product in the next Birchbox so I will wait with baited breath!

About hannahhotcakes

My name is Hannah. I live near Bath in a lovely village in the Cotswolds with my husband Ian, the love of my life for the past 10 years, in our dream cottage. I have landed my dream job as a primary school teacher and I can’t think of anything else I would rather be doing. I am a self-confessed foodie and I love to cook, bake, and eat out as much as possible. Here are some things I love: My friends and family, travelling, fresh flowers, good books, having breakfast on my balcony, horror films, Christmas, tea, Las Vegas, lie-ins, red wine, Liverpool FC, music, sausage dogs, Spain, rare steak, fashion, cheese, American TV series and camping. And here are my pet hates: People dressed as animals, whistling, being rushed, being made to wait, girls who act stupid to impress a man, spiders, sunburn and rocket (it comes with EVERYTHING!)

Leave a Reply

