RSS Feed

Restaurant Review – Brunch at Fat Fowl, Bradford on Avon

Ian and I seem to have fallen into a lovely little Sunday tradition of going out together for brunch. Truth be told, I love a lie in and can be rather lazy unless I have something specific to get up for, but the thought of fresh coffee and eggs is a great way to start the day and enough to get me out of bed!

After a day spent on the sofa watching Gossip Girl (new addiction!), I think I have gotten over this pesky cold and woke up today feeling much better. We headed to our nearest town, Bradford on Avon, for a bite to eat and the Sunday papers.

ff2

Fat Fowl is right in the centre of town and is light, airy and welcoming. It is open all day, offering a breakfast, lunch and dinner menu and also does a fantastic tapas selection which I am dying to go back and try out! Next door is their deli, Le Petit Coq (no giggling!), which has a mouth-watering selection of offerings.

We started with cappuccinos and divided up the paper – I had the food and fashion parts; Ian had the tech and sports pages while we looked over the menu.

ff1

I felt like something sweet today so went for pancakes with banana, bacon and maple syrup and Ian had the same as last week, Eggs Royale (I think he is on a mission to find the best in Bath!).

Mine was delicious. I loved the sweet and savoury combination, although the pancakes were slightly on the stodgy side.

ff3

Ian’s meal was served on toast instead of an English muffin as they had run out, but he said it was still lovely and we both left empty plates!

ff4

If you are in Bradford on Avon, or feel like getting out of Bath for a morning, it is such a pretty town to have a wander around although there isn’t much going on on Sundays as a lot of the good shops and boutiques are closed so I would recommend popping in on a Saturday or through the week. They also have great farmers markets on so keep an eye out for those if you are in the area!

About hannahhotcakes

My name is Hannah. I live near Bath in a lovely village in the Cotswolds with my husband Ian, the love of my life for the past 10 years, in our dream cottage. I have landed my dream job as a primary school teacher and I can’t think of anything else I would rather be doing. I am a self-confessed foodie and I love to cook, bake, and eat out as much as possible. Here are some things I love: My friends and family, travelling, fresh flowers, good books, having breakfast on my balcony, horror films, Christmas, tea, Las Vegas, lie-ins, red wine, Liverpool FC, music, sausage dogs, Spain, rare steak, fashion, cheese, American TV series and camping. And here are my pet hates: People dressed as animals, whistling, being rushed, being made to wait, girls who act stupid to impress a man, spiders, sunburn and rocket (it comes with EVERYTHING!)

Leave a Reply

