RSS Feed

Recipe – The Perfect Autumnal Dish

bns5

After soldiering on and feeling rough all week, I have finally given into the fact that I am ill. I was in bed by about 10pm last night and stayed there until almost midday today! I do feel very lazy but I think I needed a lazy evening and morning of tea-drinking, reading and watching Netflix. I am still feeling a bit under the weather and bunged up but will hopefully feel back to my normal self soon.

bns4

I was wondering what to call today’s recipe and I decided that it is in fact the most perfect autumnal dish, both in ingredients and taste, so I felt it deserved this title. It is one of those dishes where every ingredient pulls its weight and adds a different flavour or texture so that when you put them all together, they just work. With soft pearl barley, roasted butternut squash, creamy, melting stilton, crunchy hazelnuts and crispy sage leaves this recipe is pretty wonderful and would be a great option to serve at a dinner party or bonfire night to a crowd.

Ingredients

bns9bns13 bns15

1 butternut squash, peeled and cubed

1 onion, cut into wedges

A good glug of olive oil

3-4 garlic cloves, peeled and roughly chopped

200g of pearl barley

A handful of fresh sage leaves

Salt and pepper

About 100g of stilton, cubed/ crumbled

A handful (about 30g) of hazelnuts, roughly chopped

How to make it

  • Begin by preheating your oven to 200°C, Gas Mark 6
  • In a large roasting tray, put your butternut squash and onion and toss in some olive oil, salt and pepperbns16
  • Roast for 15 minutes, then give everything a good stir, add the garlic then roast for another 15 – 20 minutesbns7
  • While the vegetables are roasting, boil the pearl barley in salted water until it is cooked (I like it al dente) then drainbns14
  • In a small frying pan, heat some olive oil and fry the sage leaves until crispy – this should only take about 20 secondsbns6
  • Set the sage leaves aside but don’t pour the lovely flavoured oil in the pan away yet
  • Remove the roasting tray from the oven, add the pearl barley and mix well
  • Add the stilton, hazelnuts and sage leaves and give one final mix before servingbns1
  • To finish, drizzle over the sage oil you saved from earlierbns3
About hannahhotcakes

My name is Hannah. I live near Bath in a lovely village in the Cotswolds with my husband Ian, the love of my life for the past 10 years, in our dream cottage. I have landed my dream job as a primary school teacher and I can’t think of anything else I would rather be doing. I am a self-confessed foodie and I love to cook, bake, and eat out as much as possible. Here are some things I love: My friends and family, travelling, fresh flowers, good books, having breakfast on my balcony, horror films, Christmas, tea, Las Vegas, lie-ins, red wine, Liverpool FC, music, sausage dogs, Spain, rare steak, fashion, cheese, American TV series and camping. And here are my pet hates: People dressed as animals, whistling, being rushed, being made to wait, girls who act stupid to impress a man, spiders, sunburn and rocket (it comes with EVERYTHING!)

2 responses »

  1. Sorry to hear you’ve been under the weather. 😦 But the dish looks lovely! Might have to give it a go! Feel better soon! xo

    Reply

Leave a Reply

