RSS Feed

This Week’s Nails – A New Red

As we all sigh in relief that we made it to the end of another week, I have a double manicure to share tonight…one rather bad and another I am quite keen on!

I am very aware of bloggers who only choose to show the lovely parts of their lives on their blog, which is entirely their prerogative, but I like to think of mine as being a bit more akin to real life and just like cakes that don’t rise, recipes that taste horrible and projects that look rubbish, sometimes a manicure just doesn’t work! Case in point, this horrible pink, glittery look I attempted before Ian and I went out last weekend. nails9 I decided to use two new nail polishes that I hadn’t had a chance to try out yet; a pretty pink shade by Révérence de Bastien, which I received in this month’s Birchbox, and Barry M’s Sequin Effect polish in the shade ‘White’. nails20 I thought that together they would give a pretty and understated glitter effect but I was disappointed in both products for different reasons.

The pink base coat was actually very pretty after just one coat, giving a nice, translucent pink sheen to my nails which I would use again. nails12 However, with a second coat it became streaky and the formula was generally a little bit too watery to achieve a good, strong colour. nails13 I didn’t worry too much about the finish of the base coat as I knew I would be using the Sequin Effect nail varnish over the top. I wasn’t really sure what I was expecting from this polish but it is basically multi-coloured glitter circles suspended in a gritty, white varnish which makes it look like you have a layer of PVA glue on your nails and it finishes very unevenly and rough to the touch. nails8 nails6 I wasn’t happy with it from the start really but didn’t have any time to redo it as we had tickets to the theatre and were already running slightly late. Even a top coat of my trusty Seche Vite couldn’t improve this and I’m sad to say that I took this manicure off before I went to bed meaning it lasted a grand total of about 4 hours!

I think I will give the pink nail varnish another try but I am seriously unimpressed with the Barry M bottle, especially as I usually love their stuff! If anyone wants this Sequin Effects polish then just let me know and I will post the bottle to you! After this little disaster, I decided that a classic red nail varnish was called for – you can’t go wrong with red, right?! nails18 I had a new bottle of Nails Inc nail varnish to try out in the shade ‘Luminous Red Gloss’ which I got free last week with a tube of Colgate toothpaste. Nails Inc polishes usually retail for about £12 and are excellent quality so I thought that this deal was an absolute bargain and you always need toothpaste! nails16 I applied two coats of this gorgeous, bright red shade and would have been very happy to leave them like that but I couldn’t resist a few feature nails and, in order to redeem the good name of Barry M, I decided to use a white Shatter Effect nail varnish which did not disappoint! nails1 nails2 I really like this simple manicure – I love the shade of red, the Nails Inc polish was great quality and the white nail varnish complemented the whole look. nails10nails5

About hannahhotcakes

My name is Hannah. I live near Bath in a lovely village in the Cotswolds with my husband Ian, the love of my life for the past 10 years, in our dream cottage. I have landed my dream job as a primary school teacher and I can’t think of anything else I would rather be doing. I am a self-confessed foodie and I love to cook, bake, and eat out as much as possible. Here are some things I love: My friends and family, travelling, fresh flowers, good books, having breakfast on my balcony, horror films, Christmas, tea, Las Vegas, lie-ins, red wine, Liverpool FC, music, sausage dogs, Spain, rare steak, fashion, cheese, American TV series and camping. And here are my pet hates: People dressed as animals, whistling, being rushed, being made to wait, girls who act stupid to impress a man, spiders, sunburn and rocket (it comes with EVERYTHING!)

Leave a Reply

