RSS Feed

Eyebrow Threading

I feel I should start this post by stating that I really don’t have very good eyebrows. They are thin, not a particularly great shape and in the summer they go so blonde that in some lights it kind of looks like I don’t have any eyebrows at all! I will be forever jealous of my friends that have lovely arched eyebrows as good brows can completely change the shape of your face and make you look groomed without really having to do anything.

If, like me, you aren’t blessed with the greatest natural brows then you need to put a little effort into making them look a bit better.

Like most people, I started off by tweezing my own brows (rather unsuccessfully I may add!) and quickly moved on to having them tweezed and waxed every month in a local beauty salon. I was OK with this for a while but then I had my eyebrows threaded and am now a total convert!

This ancient method of hair removal (which is fascinating to watch!) has gotten steadily more popular over the years and I find it produces much better results than tweezing or waxing as an entire row of hair follicles is pulled up at the same time meaning there is a straighter line and more even finish.

I won’t pull any punches though…it does hurt! I don’t have a particularly high pain threshold but it is enough to make my eyes water when I have my brows threaded although it is a bearable pain and is over so quickly that I feel it is worth it. It definitely hurts less than tweezing and waxing and also manages to get all of those tiny unwanted hairs you can never seem to get when you try it yourself!

I was really happy when Arch Angelz (urgh…I hate trendy spellings!) opened in my local Debenhams in Bath with a team of skilled ladies who will thread, wax and tweeze your brows to perfection.

brows2

These are not the greatest selfies but I thought it may be useful to see a grainy before and after shot of my threading experience!

Here is the ‘before’ which show my rather shapeless brows.

brows1

And here is the ‘after’. The skin around my eyebrows is a little pink but I think you can see that my brows look much neater and they have some sort of shape to them too.

brows3

My final touch is to just fill in my pale blonde brows with a little eyeshadow to give them some definition and despite the shade looking very dark in the pan, this mushroom-taupe colour is perfect for me!

brows5

As I put the finishing touches to this blog post, I am watching ‘Educating Yorkshire’ on Channel 4 and have just seen one of the girls, Bailey, utter that now infamous line “Do you like my eyebrows? I shaved them off!” which made me realise that even if I do complain about not having the perfect brows at least I haven’t gone to such extremes to sort them out!

About hannahhotcakes

My name is Hannah. I live near Bath in a lovely village in the Cotswolds with my husband Ian, the love of my life for the past 10 years, in our dream cottage. I have landed my dream job as a primary school teacher and I can’t think of anything else I would rather be doing. I am a self-confessed foodie and I love to cook, bake, and eat out as much as possible. Here are some things I love: My friends and family, travelling, fresh flowers, good books, having breakfast on my balcony, horror films, Christmas, tea, Las Vegas, lie-ins, red wine, Liverpool FC, music, sausage dogs, Spain, rare steak, fashion, cheese, American TV series and camping. And here are my pet hates: People dressed as animals, whistling, being rushed, being made to wait, girls who act stupid to impress a man, spiders, sunburn and rocket (it comes with EVERYTHING!)

Leave a Reply

