RSS Feed

Recipe – Dark Chocolate and Hazelnut Cookies

I had a lovely evening last night with some of my girlfriends and it was exactly what I needed to break the week up and recharge the friendship batteries! I made a simple spaghetti Bolognese and another apple crumble…it’s official – I have a serious crumble addiction at the moment!

I have been bitten by the baking bug again this week. On Sunday I made a ginger and black treacle cake

cookie11 cookie12

And tonight it was a new flapjack recipe I had been thinking about for a little while.

Today’s recipe is another one of this week’s bakes and they went down a treat in the staff room! I used the same basic recipe as my Cranberry and White Chocolate Cookies but had a play around with the ingredients and these delicious dark chocolate and hazelnut cookies were born!

Hazelnuts are my favourite nuts to use in baking and they go really well with dark chocolate. I always recommend skipping the packets of chocolate chips in the supermarket and just chop up a bar of chocolate yourself. Not only does it mean you can choose a really good quality chocolate bar but you can keep really big chunks in there too and who doesn’t want great big hunks of chocolate in their cookie?!

cookie3

Ingredients

cookie1

225g of butter, at room temperature

400g of caster sugar

½ teaspoon of baking soda

About 10ml of hot water

1 teaspoon of vanilla extract

A pinch of salt

2 eggs, whisked

375g of plain flour

150g of hazelnuts, roughly chopped

130g of good quality dark chocolate, chopped into chunks

How to make it

  • Begin by preheating your oven to 200°C and lining two baking trays with greaseproof paper
  • Cream together the butter and the sugar until light and fluffy
  • Dissolve the baking soda in the hot water and add to the bowl
  • Next, add the vanilla extract, salt and eggs and mix well
  • Sieve the flour into the mixture and stir with a wooden spoon until it comes together as a stiff cookie dough
  • Add the hazelnuts and dark chocolate and mix well until evenly distributed

cookie5

  • Using your hands, roll the batter into golf ball sized balls and gently flatten them downcookie6
  • Place onto the lined baking trays and bake for 12 minutescookie8
  • They should be lightly browned and are delicious while they are still warm with a cup of tea!cookie9
About hannahhotcakes

My name is Hannah. I live near Bath in a lovely village in the Cotswolds with my husband Ian, the love of my life for the past 10 years, in our dream cottage. I have landed my dream job as a primary school teacher and I can’t think of anything else I would rather be doing. I am a self-confessed foodie and I love to cook, bake, and eat out as much as possible. Here are some things I love: My friends and family, travelling, fresh flowers, good books, having breakfast on my balcony, horror films, Christmas, tea, Las Vegas, lie-ins, red wine, Liverpool FC, music, sausage dogs, Spain, rare steak, fashion, cheese, American TV series and camping. And here are my pet hates: People dressed as animals, whistling, being rushed, being made to wait, girls who act stupid to impress a man, spiders, sunburn and rocket (it comes with EVERYTHING!)

2 responses »

  1. these sound delicious, thanks for posing up this..

    Simon

    Reply

Leave a Reply

