RSS Feed

Restaurant Review – Bill’s Restaurant, Bath

Ian and I had a great ‘date night’ last night seeing Sweeney Todd at the theatre. I had forgotten what a dark play it was but we both really enjoyed it and those little tubs of ice-cream in the interval are worth the journey alone! This morning, we woke up to the sun shining in through the window so decided not to waste the day and head into Bath for a spot of brunch. We parked outside our old flat and I always find it a bit weird walking past our old front door. I loved living in Bath but now we aren’t in the city centre, it makes it a little bit more special visiting it every now and again. bills9 We walked through the rugby ground and along the river which was looking glorious in the sunshine. bills3bills1 We headed to Bill’s Restaurant in the city centre. It has been open for a good few months now but this was the first time we had visited. As soon as I stepped inside, it reminded me of Jamie Oliver’s place up the road with the very cool mix of rustic and industrial interior and a variety of items on sale near the door giving it a part deli/ part café feel. The restaurant was busy but we found a seat near the bar and perused the breakfast menu. I was really impressed with the variety on offer and we both had a hard time deciding what to go for! bills5 We started with coffees and freshly-made orange, carrot and ginger juices then ordered. Ian went for Eggs Royale (smoked salmon and poached eggs on English muffins served with hollandaise sauce and pumpkin seeds) and I had the bubble and squeak which came with fried eggs, ham and hollandaise sauce. The service was quick and friendly and soon our meals arrived. bills6 I immediately had meal envy when I saw Ian’s and wasn’t that enamoured with what I had ordered. bills8 Now this is where I realise I am going to sound ridiculously fussy, but I hated the way they served my breakfast! There was a pile of bubble and squeak covered with ham, then topped with eggs with hollandaise poured all over it. In my head I pictured the items arranged separately on a plate but this was just a really messy was of serving it and it also meant it was difficult to get a bit of everything on your fork. Luckily, all of the food was delicious – the ham was really good quality, the eggs were still runny and the bubble and squeak was lovely but there was way too much hollandaise sauce which made the dish incredibly rich and I only managed to eat half of it as the sauce covered everything, making it quite sickly for my tastes. Ian on the other hand really enjoyed his dish and there was a good amount of smoked salmon, with the pumpkin seeds adding another texture. bills7 Although I did have a bit of a moan, I would definitely go back to Bill’s especially to try their pancakes or vegetarian breakfast which both looked really good. I think if I was ordering anything with a sauce again, I may ask for it to be served on the side because it really did spoil my brunch today but then again you may read this and just think I need to stop being so fussy?! Finally, after we did a spot of shopping to walk off our meals, I insisted we pop into Starbucks for my first Pumpkin Spice Latte (or PSM for those super-fans!) of the season…it was AMAZING! bills2 bills10

About hannahhotcakes

My name is Hannah. I live near Bath in a lovely village in the Cotswolds with my husband Ian, the love of my life for the past 10 years, in our dream cottage. I have landed my dream job as a primary school teacher and I can’t think of anything else I would rather be doing. I am a self-confessed foodie and I love to cook, bake, and eat out as much as possible. Here are some things I love: My friends and family, travelling, fresh flowers, good books, having breakfast on my balcony, horror films, Christmas, tea, Las Vegas, lie-ins, red wine, Liverpool FC, music, sausage dogs, Spain, rare steak, fashion, cheese, American TV series and camping. And here are my pet hates: People dressed as animals, whistling, being rushed, being made to wait, girls who act stupid to impress a man, spiders, sunburn and rocket (it comes with EVERYTHING!)

Leave a Reply

