RSS Feed

Recipe – Honey-Baked Cinnamon Figs

Recipe – Honey-Baked Cinnamon Figs

I am feeling pretty rubbish at the moment as I try and shake off the tail end of a rather unpleasant bug (3 days of constant nausea anyone?!) but it’s the start of a new week so I am trying to look ahead and hope I’m back to normal soon enough.

This weekend, we headed down to the seaside to see my parents.

I wore my new red bowler hat which was a complete impulse buy and I’m still not too sure I can pull off!

fig28

My dad cooked his usual medley of ribs, chicken wings and amazing egg fried rice – I was absolutely gutted I felt so poorly as I couldn’t manage a bite of it and usually I am helping myself to seconds!

fig21 fig30 fig31

We had bacon butties on the seafront, all wrapped up on a chilly morning.

fig8fig13 fig17 fig18

I fell a little bit more in love with my parents’ chickens and am continuing to work on Ian about getting some of our own.

fig10

As we get ready to bid September farewell (and ask ourselves how it is already October?!) I have a lovely warming pudding recipe to share with you today. September and October are when figs are at their best so this is a great seasonal dish and so simple to prepare.

fig1

Ingredients

Figs

Honey

Cinnamon

How to make it

  • Preheat your oven to 180°C, Gas Mark 4
  • Slice your figs in half and lay them face up in an ovenproof dishfig2
  • Drizzle over a generous teaspoon of honey per figfig3
  • Sprinkle a pinch of cinnamon over the figsfig4
  • Bake for 15-20 minutes (really ripe figs may only need about 10 minutes so keep an eye on them!)fig5
  • Serve warm with ice creamfig6
About hannahhotcakes

My name is Hannah. I live near Bath in a lovely village in the Cotswolds with my husband Ian, the love of my life for the past 10 years, in our dream cottage. I have landed my dream job as a primary school teacher and I can’t think of anything else I would rather be doing. I am a self-confessed foodie and I love to cook, bake, and eat out as much as possible. Here are some things I love: My friends and family, travelling, fresh flowers, good books, having breakfast on my balcony, horror films, Christmas, tea, Las Vegas, lie-ins, red wine, Liverpool FC, music, sausage dogs, Spain, rare steak, fashion, cheese, American TV series and camping. And here are my pet hates: People dressed as animals, whistling, being rushed, being made to wait, girls who act stupid to impress a man, spiders, sunburn and rocket (it comes with EVERYTHING!)

Leave a Reply

