RSS Feed

Restaurant Review – The Snooty Fox, Warminster

This Sunday, despite having a huge pile of marking to be getting on with, Ian and I decided to head out for lunch. I love discovering new towns and villages near where we live and we chose to have a wander through Warminster before stopping off somewhere for a bite to eat.

This is a town near where we live but unfortunately it was pretty dead last Sunday. There were lots of pretty cafes and antique shops though so it looks like it may have much more character through the week!

I had heard good things about The Snooty Fox pub but must admit to not being overwhelmed when we first drove up to it. However, once inside I could see that it was busy (always a good sign!) and we took a seat in the bar area.

The menu was pretty standard which I now realise does the food a complete disservice because we both loved it!

photo 1 (4)

We shared a couple of starters. Ian ordered the mixed fish platter which came loaded with smoked salmon, king prawns, smoked mackerel and the most wonderful crispy whitebait with lovely marie rose and aioli dipping sauces.

photo 2

I had some bread and olives served with rapeseed oil and balsamic vinegar and a homemade basil pesto for dipping and a nice variety of olives.

For our mains, Ian had a classic roast leg of lamb served with a herby bread sauce which was really tender.

photo 5

I opted for the fish of the day which was sole in a creamy yet delicate almond and leek sauce. I absolutely loved this dish. The fish was perfectly cooked, it came with amazing, crispy roast potatoes and the sauce was perfectly balanced.

photo 4

Our main courses came with cauliflower cheese and seasonal vegetables which were lovely and al dente.

We were pretty stuffed at this point but after a little rest, we found room to share a pudding! We ordered the chocolate brownie which was served warm with a raspberry and lemon coulis and honeycomb ice cream. I am very fussy about brownies but this was very good; nutty, gooey and rich.

photo 2 (1)

Overall, this was an unexpected delight. The food was very good and reasonably priced and a Sunday lunch without the washing up to do afterwards is always a treat!

About hannahhotcakes

My name is Hannah. I live near Bath in a lovely village in the Cotswolds with my husband Ian, the love of my life for the past 10 years, in our dream cottage. I have landed my dream job as a primary school teacher and I can’t think of anything else I would rather be doing. I am a self-confessed foodie and I love to cook, bake, and eat out as much as possible. Here are some things I love: My friends and family, travelling, fresh flowers, good books, having breakfast on my balcony, horror films, Christmas, tea, Las Vegas, lie-ins, red wine, Liverpool FC, music, sausage dogs, Spain, rare steak, fashion, cheese, American TV series and camping. And here are my pet hates: People dressed as animals, whistling, being rushed, being made to wait, girls who act stupid to impress a man, spiders, sunburn and rocket (it comes with EVERYTHING!)

Leave a Reply

