RSS Feed

Beauty Review – September Birchbox

Another month, another treat in the post! My friend Cat and I are both Birchbox subscribers and its always funny to compare notes on what we receive and this month I loved the contents whereas she was less impressed. To honour London Fashion Week, all of the products have a ‘whirlwind week’ theme which I’m sure we have all experienced!

Here was my first peek at the goodies:

birch11

The first thing that jumped out at me was the little bar of Green & Black’s White Chocolate – one of my favourite treats to enjoy with a cup of tea.

birch12

While I love discovering new brands through this monthly subscription, I also welcome the chance to get my hands on some cult products so I was pleased to see a little bottle of Bioderma Micellar water. I am a fan of these cleansing waters and this brand is known to be the best so I am looking forward to trying it out.

birch6

I can be quite fussy about the products I use in my hair, but I was intrigued by this offering from Eva Cosmetics. I love Argan oil for my hair and this one also contains real diamond powder so it feels like a very luxurious way to try and tame the frizz!

birch3 birch4 birch5

Next up a lipstick from ModelCo worth £15.50. I received the shade ‘Kitty’ which looks like a warm, pinky nude shade in the tube and is one of those ‘my lips but better’ shades. Despite stating that this is a matte lipstick, this is a creamy consistency with a lovely golden shimmer and it has already made its way into my daily make-up bag. It also smells amazing!

birch9 birch10birch16 birch17 birch18

I am usually a fan of anything by Molton Brown but this Ylang-Ylang Body Lotion, while feeling wonderfully moisturising when applied, is not my favourite smell. It is far too heavy and musty smelling on the skin so despite being the perfect size for a weekend bag, I am going to give this one away. I was surprised by this as I received the matching shower gel in last month’s Birchbox and loved it!

birch13

Finally, a nail varnish by Révérence de Bastien, worth £16. This is a brand I haven’t heard of before but I love trying out a new polish and I don’t think I have a pink shade (simply called No. 8 on the bottle) like this in my collection. I haven’t tried out his formula yet but will no doubt feature it on my weekly nails post soon enough.

birch14 birch15

Overall, I am really pleased with this month’s Birchbox – a new nail varnish and lipstick feels like a real treat and apart from the body lotion, I will definitely use all the other products.

About hannahhotcakes

My name is Hannah. I live near Bath in a lovely village in the Cotswolds with my husband Ian, the love of my life for the past 10 years, in our dream cottage. I have landed my dream job as a primary school teacher and I can’t think of anything else I would rather be doing. I am a self-confessed foodie and I love to cook, bake, and eat out as much as possible. Here are some things I love: My friends and family, travelling, fresh flowers, good books, having breakfast on my balcony, horror films, Christmas, tea, Las Vegas, lie-ins, red wine, Liverpool FC, music, sausage dogs, Spain, rare steak, fashion, cheese, American TV series and camping. And here are my pet hates: People dressed as animals, whistling, being rushed, being made to wait, girls who act stupid to impress a man, spiders, sunburn and rocket (it comes with EVERYTHING!)

Leave a Reply

